Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 15 October 2013
I was told to get this textbook as a part of my A2 Politics course, in comparison to other textbooks I've had in the past this is a really great one. It's compact enough to carry every day without being weighted down, and inside the information is laid out really clearly. The chapters being broken down into more concise topics and then definitions of new terms laid out on the side.

Even if you haven't been told to get this book for your course I would definitely recommend it as it's one of the clearest and best laid out textbooks for ideologies around.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
Excellent organisation, great explanation and descriptions. Strips the various ideologies down, helps you understand the roots of their origins and how many of them overlap. As someone who already considered themselves well-read in the subject, I've found this book a tremendous benefit to my understanding of political ideology. It thoroughly deserves its 5 star product rating.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2015
This book is amazing for Edexcel Government & Politics Unit 3B and 4B. Very informative which helps you alot for the exams - you won't regret buying it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2009
I do A Level politics and this book has been hugely helpful for the course, infact I'd probably go as far as to say it's one of the best textbooks I've ever had to use. It gives brilliant descrptions of the ideologies and the bibliography section reads like a reccommended reading list for anyone interested in politics.

Our class was given either a copy of the Fourth or Third edition and I ended up buying my own copy of the Third because the Fourth has two major problems. Firstly it doesn't have the brilliant glossary which the third edition had and secondly it falls apart once it's been in and out of your bag, carried around and read. Entire sections fall out and even though the Third edition is several years old they are still in tip-top shape, the fourth editions after under a year of use are covered in sello-tape and glue.

My advice? Buy the book but buy the Third edition second hand.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2009
This book is the staple of many A Level classes around the country. It's written with the A Level Edexcel Route B (Political Ideologies) course in mind and its author, Andy Heywood, is the leading light within the exam board. This means that having the book gives you a significant advantage when preparing for the exam. Having taught the Route B course to year 13 A Level students for 10 years I can attest to its usefulness. The book is very straightfoward in its layout; each chapter covers a different ideology with origins, key themes & divisions analysed. It also includes helpful boxes of key thinkers and concepts. My students generally think very highly of it and a number of ex-students who have gone on to study politics at university tell me that it's been on the required reading list in their first year.

However, it doesn't get 5 stars here because students have frequently also complained that the writing can be somewhat 'dry' and there is a fair bit of unnecessary repetition throughout. A significant minority (often the less able) prefer the Neil McNaughton book, which goes by the same name, though from the perspective of preparing students for the exam this is (in a strictly utilitarian sense) more beneficial.

All in all a very good buy for students and interested amateurs.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 April 2014
This is an engrossing, intellectually stimulating and comprehensive guide to political ideologies.
After an illuminating introduction there are 10 chapters on Liberalism; Conservatism; Socialism; Anarchism; Nationalism; Fascism; Feminism; Ecologism; Religious Fundamentalism & Multiculturalism. Each chapter contains boxed material giving information on major thinkers and key concepts and concludes with a further reading list. The final chapter discusses whether we are living in a post-ideological age.
This thoroughly revised and updated 5th edition(2012) is a coherent and jargon-free guide to political ideologies which is ideal for the student as well as the general reader wishing to make sense of our complex political world.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2012
Once again, Heywood has managed to contain within this book the essential and most relevant definitions, arguments and theories. The new edition has really made clear distinctions, and of course links between ideologies that have sometimes been less clear through coloured points and other useful diagrams. It has become a more excellent reference book for university students, as well as becoming a good and informative read for those with a genuine interest in the key areas of political ideology. It is well-written and accessible which is why it remains my key reference book in my studies on Political Ideologies. Kudos to Andrew Heywood!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2015
This book is a theoretical approach to an old topic: ideologies. I found it 'out of touch' with the reality. The 'real power' is not even discussed. The word 'power' is not discussed. If you are over 12-14 years old this book is not for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2011
One could say the literary style was a bit flat, and it does not quite connect political ideas back into the underlying cultural, social and belief context of the time (given that it is pretty historical)
However it is admirably clear, fluent, accurate and well organised, the work of a teacher who was also an Edexel chief examiner. Having, as a teacher myself, attended his conferences I can vouch for his strong grasp of the subject.
The books inserts on key thinkers and ideas are helpful to students who might lack ability to follow extended text, but that text is there too.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
Honestly, this is like a Bible for A2 students. Trust me i am one of them and this was pretty much the only book our class was using. Heywood just knows his stuff what can u do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)