Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 18 September 2017
I absolutely love this book, highly recommended for any Undergrad! it comes with very easy to read suggestions and ideas on how to be a successful student. Even if you are not aiming for a 1st class honours, this book is full of very useful tips and ideas for a productive student life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2017
Save your money! This books does not tell you how to get a first academically. It just tells you generally thing like sleep well, eat right, write a plan etc. Not worth the money!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2014
The first thing I gathered when reading this book is that the author Michael is a student that I could easily relate to. As he says in the book, he initially wasn't achieving firsts in uni work but later changed his work ethic and mind set which allowed him to gain a first for his degree. Michael is not boastful of his success and does not lead you into a false sense of security by brain washing you into thinking that achieving a first is easy and it is just going to happen over night. Michael offers a variety of strategies to help improve uni work and student life in general. He explains the importance of mindset and developing intelligence which from his point of view was interesting how it can impact the likelihood of obtaining a first. I would agree with many of the previous reviews that much if what is included in this book is common sense, but sometimes its good to read advice from a different angle. I find this book valuable in times when things are tough at university. Just reading a few pages can boost confidence and set you in the correct direction again if you have suffered a set back. After reading the book, I do have a more positive outlook on obtaining a first.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2017
I like this book. It is insightful and informative. The author shares principles of academic success that can help propel you to first class results that he learnt from his own personal experience, scientific research and interviews with students who have achieved a first in various subject areas. The structure of the book is in two parts with part one having five chapters and part two having eight.

The first part of the book is about five ideas that contribute greatly to how well you do at university; CHAPTER ONE is about your degree choice. To get a first-class degree you have to ensure that you are on a course that genuinely interests you - one for which you have such a passion that you are willing to expend a great amount of effort in mastering it. It is also very advantageous to be on a degree for which you have some prior knowledge. CHAPTER TWO is about having a growth mindset. When you believe in your ability to improve and grow, you will find that you work harder and give up less easily CHAPTER THREE is about work ethic. Find something or someone that inspires you to work to the very best of your abilities. Focus on your own development, but also ensure that your effort exceeds that of the average student. CHAPTER FOUR is about happiness and its effect on your grades. Happy people tend to be more optimistic, resilient and, in some cases, even more creative. They also tend to get higher grades. As a student don’t ever ignore your happiness. CHAPTER FIVE is about support systems. A good network of friends, family and study buddies will help you manage the challenges of university more effectively.

The second part of the book is eight chapters of practical tips on eight topics that can help boost your grades; CHAPTER SIX is about memory. Your long term memory has virtually unlimited capacity. To take advantage of it and improve it, aim to use imaginative associations with what is already familiar as well as repeatedly trusting yourself on what you know. CHAPTER SEVEN is about time management. Set personal deadlines for your work, breaking it into more manageable chunks and tackle it with less frequent breaks so that it isn’t harder to return to at a later time. CHAPTER EIGHT is about how to beat procrastination by adopting a ‘just do it’ attitude and not always waiting for motivation. In addition cutting down on distractions and ensuring that your work is designed to be less daunting can go a long way. CHAPTER NINE is about lectures. The majority of first class students attend most, if not all, of their lectures. They read ahead, take notes and try to participate in lectures. Doing all three of these things will help you take in more during lectures. CHAPTER TEN is about your health- your mind and body. By taking good care of your body your mind can operate more effectively. Exercise, eat and sleep well and avoid alcoholic binges for superior academic performance. CHAPTER ELEVEN is about the environment you study in. It is important to find a place where you can study comfortably with a minimal level of distractions. CHAPTER TWELVE is about doing your coursework well. Make your work elegant, creative and credible in order to attain top marks. CHAPTER THIRTEEN is about exams. In many degrees exams are the deciding factor of whether you get a first or not so it is important to prepare for them, revising early, using past papers and practicing under exam conditions to ensure you can fulfill your potential in the real exams. The book finishes with the authors concluding remarks, a summary, acknowledgements, a bibliography and an index.

Overall, this is a well written book with good ideas and I would recommend it to every student, young or mature, who is willing to work hard & smart to get the best possible degree.
review image review image review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2015
Good inspirational read but far too simplistic. Message I took home was to work hard in a regular structured manner. Not a lot, if anything, said about the need to think about what you are learning and writing about.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2017
great book with some great tips. also very motivating!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2014
Although aimed at students going into their first year of university. I'm currently going into my final year and find this book amazing! I had my doubts, but it's totally changed the way I revise and remember information. Definitely a worthwhile investment! I wish it was longer.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2012
This book doesn't what to do academically to get a first at all. It only says basic things such as "get sleep", "plan". I returned this book, it was a waste. No help, only common sense.
There is no help on how to improve your work up to a first.
Get any other book except this one.
88 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2013
This book is essential all those that are at UNI, it gives you comprehensive advise and guidance from a students point of view and yes some of it is common sense however, sometimes it's good to bee reminded of those truths. I also want to add that amazons delivery is beyond exceptional and I highly recommend you using their service ;))))
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2016
Tefula gives plenty of insights into achieving a first in your degree. I found that reading it through and then cherry picking the points I wanted to take on was the best way to go. Definitely worth reading to help you with your study.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse