Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 August 2009
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/0230014348/ref=cm_cr_rev_prod_title

This book i'd be lost without, having got an original copy from the war i highly recommend you buy this book.

You'll never waste any amount of food when you start using this book and without trying you may even lose weight.

if nothing else its a great look at history.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2010
This entertaining little book is a reprint of a wartime book by the Daily Telegraph. When first published it cost 2/- (2 shillings or 10p in today's money). It gives recipes and dishes that can be easily made from the limited wartime rations and what vegetables were available. Invaluable for people with an interest in WWII.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2010
My Grand mother had an original volume of this cook book. Sadly on her death in 1976 they were disposed of and became lost.

Not only was there a certain nostalgia value in obtaining this volume and its companion fascimle. In these times of austerity the recipes remain relevant today for those of us on very restricted budgets. As a proffesional Chef its amazing how much of modern dishes classified as traditional were created during the rationing period (1940-1958)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2010
This is a reproduction of the wartime publication. It is most interesting and just what I wanted.

The only small improvement that I think would have been helpful is a couple of pages in a prefix which gave hints and tips on adapting the recipes to our more affluent times.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2010
I bought this for a friend as she was looking for this particular book in the shops and I suggested I try Amazon for her. She was delighted with the buy, the book was very good value for money, it arrived in excellent condition and the service was first class. Another convert! With thanks.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
Some really good recipes here, looking for economy items and ways to eke out a small income it full of incidental advice as well as good plain food. AND - surprisingly enough some of the people who sent in recipes are actually listed with their full address would you believe. Find that surprising really although having got their mention maybe they were pleased about it and glad to be doing their bit. A super book, even just to browse through and definitely one to reach for if you've got some unexpected abundance to deal with!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
During the war and the probably 10 years after some food was scarce or rationed - this is a fun book to read and to try the recipes out and see just how people coped and to the older generation ( I am one !!) the opportunity taste some memories is fun
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
This a great lil book full of tasty and useful recipes. Obviously there aren't any pictures of the food, but it you're not fussed about that then this is a great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
Item arrived quickly and in perfect condition.It's a lovely little book with some really good recipes.
It's ideal for young and old alike and well worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
I found most of the recipes my grandmother used to make for us when we were children, loved going down memory lane, worth every penny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)