Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
9
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2000
It is unbelievable that this masterpiece has been out of print for so long. I have been looking for a copy for some years, having eventually and reluctantly had to return a loan copy. I am delighted that it is available again.
Organised as a collection of relatively short essays, this has a legitimate claim to be the outstanding book of the 20th century for anyone interested in change, systems thinking, ecology, epistemology, organisations, therapy and more. Be warned - it can be very hard in places, but the effort is worth it. 'Form, Substance and Difference', 'Conscious Purpose versus Nature' and 'The Logical Categories of Learning and Communication' are absolutely central texts for anyone considering how we need to respond to the current world crisis. Other key papers include 'The cybernetics of "Self": A theory of alchoholism' and 'Social Planning and the Concept of Deutero Learning'. If you work in the field of Organisational Development you will probably be familiar with some of the content through the many writers who have built on Bateson's work. Fritjof Capra writes about him a great deal. The original is best though.
The fact that it is back in print gives me hope.
David Ballard
0Comment| 134 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2011
Steps to an Ecology of Mind is simply a masterpiece. In this collection of seemingly disparate essays, Bateson takes the reader on a journey that connects diverse patterns and offers an insight into a means of thinking systemically about ourselves, our relationships to each other and to the environment.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2012
EXCELLENT COLLECTION OF BATESON'S WORK. I am enjoying it so far. From a diversity of disciplines and areas of application of systems thinking.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 February 2015
I first read this book long ago, following up the ideas of psychiatrist R D Laing, because it contains a chapter headed 'Double Bind 1969'. This idea became central to Laing's thinking about schizophrenia, in 'The Politics of the Family', and is also referred to in Theodore Lidz's ' The Origin and Treatment of Schizophrenic Disorders'. The term 'double bind' was also used in the context of schizophrenia by Jules Henry, in 'Pathways to Madness' which interestingly is copyrighted 1965, which predates 'Ecology of Mind', though I have a later edition so I don't know whether the text was added too later. I think the concept of double bind is vital to understanding distress in society, and it bothers me that the ideas of all these writers are largely ignored by today's psychiatrists. Other chapters include 'Epidemiology of Schizophrenia', 'Towards a theory of Schizophrenia', and 'The Group Dynamics of Schizophrenia'. A very important book, and it's great that it is back in print.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
I read this book years ago when studying philosophy and psychology. I resently bought it as a gift to give to a young friend who was about to embark on his on philosophy studies. When it arrived I ended up re-reading it cover to cover and re-discovered the delight that I had when originally reading it all those years ago. Ageless!
Needless to say, I kept this book and ended up buying another copy for the gift!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2012
Absolutely fab. A hard read but really informative, I would highly recommend this book. I now try to get books from the library and read and return them but this book was definitely worth buying
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
A seminal piece in the history of theories important for understanding ecology and foundations of sustainability. Some sections may be less relevant to all readers, but the ones that strike are decisive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
Good to get hold of this at a good price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
I love Gregory Bateson's mind. Some chapters I found boring, but most of them are brilliant. It is a collection of essays he has written or submitted spanning his whole interesting career.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)