Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
89
4.1 out of 5 stars
Two Pints
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 18 February 2017
Fairly short book based on a couple of dudes having a bit of a yarn in the bar. It was written a few years ago so some of the historical references made me laugh.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
I have never read a book like this before, I did enjoy the book, I could picture myself in this book having them same conversation. Very easy to read and get into, short but good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2017
Although the book was in good condition there was no mention of the Essex Library Stickers in it which cannot be removed without damaging the pages.I had bought the book as a stocking filler,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2016
Brilliant read just as you would expect from Roddy hope who ever reads it gets as much pleasure as i did
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2015
Brilliant book, great service,price and delivered in good time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2017
Great read, very funny. Love Roddy Doyle.☺☺☺☺
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
Hilarious with very rough language.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
Toddy Doyle site master of comic timing which is pretty damned good when he can't tell how quickly I'm going to be reading. I read this on an all-star hospital appointment an d embarrassed myself by laughing out loud several times. Expect sharp, funny observation, a quick read which doesn't' trouble itself with any real depth. I loved it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 November 2012
From the author of 'The Commitments' and a Booker Prize winner amongst his plays and novels, Roddy Doyle has written a short collection of a year's dialogue between two men in a Dublin pub over their pints. It is extremely funny to the point of laughter. The interaction, between the two, covers events that happen over a year that have interest to them in some form or other. Written in short chapters in Irish dialect heavily laced (or should I say loaded?) with profanities. It doesn't read overtly extreme within the context of their meetings. Very much 'Gent's Only' pub material. If one of them gets too serious or disagreeable they are threatened with the lounge. The topics are in the synopsis. I found them hilarious, particularly the antics of grandson Damien and their views on popular figures, deaths, politics etc. Not too far removed from pub conversational material (usually delivered with more decorum).

I found this latest offering from Roddy Doyle cleverly written by a true comic, uplifting in its' wittiness and observations on life as told through the two characters. As another reviewer remarked, it would make an interesting audio version or play, even if not suitable for the airwaves.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2017
Not great. If you don't find the facebook posts funny, you won't like this either. It continues in the same vein, with 'hilarious' lads banter over everyday topics. Liked his stuff when he started out but the quality has declined since then, this is another example of that. Perhaps he'll make a bit of a comeback, one can only hope.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Smile
£10.74
The Guts
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here