Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
10
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 31 August 2011
This is a very good book indeed. No one else writes quite like John Burnside and every poem bears the stamp of his unique style - conjuring up strange yet familiar landscapes and emotional states using deceptively simple language and poetic structures. What perhaps makes this collection special is the way that there are blended echoes of influences as diverse as Robert Frost and Edward Thomas and American Blues singers like Charlie Patten - all in the same poems. Highlights for me are the long opening sequence - an evocative chase through mythical forest and farmland - and a moving exploration of the meaning of a painting by Pieter Bruegel the Elder.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2012
This is a book written by a brilliant author at the height of his powers. John Burnside deservedly won the T.S. Eliot Memorial Prize for this volume. Its range is large and disturbing. It encapsulates a world both ancient and disturbingly modern. I had high hopes of it when I read the initial reviews, but it far exceeded those: it is both profound in its subject matter and adept in its poetics. I have not bought a book of poetry so adroit since Seamus Heaney's "Seeing Things".
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2011
John Burnside is a poet at the height of his powers.
I have most of his work stretching over the last20 years or so, which means I was on the lookout for his new publication. I was not disappointed. I found the opening long poem about a hunted animal and a hunter both though provoking and poignant. He has an ability to create a rural landscape which is founded in reality but moves easily into a profounder realisation
of the possibilities that might lie beyond the surface.
These conserns permeate the rest of the shorter poems in the book.
I finished it with a great deal of satisfaction and will reread soon to explore his vision more deeply
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2012
Beautiful story poems, vividly in touch with the natural world and with inner human spaces. They are sparse but elegant and, using a minimum of words, highly descriptive - like looking at a winter tree blackened against the dusk. In my opinion this is what poetry should be. It is what I aspire to write. Stunning.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2011
worthy winner of the forward prize.
Well balanced collection that has been a pleasure to read over the last week or so.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2011
Wonderful!!! I've yet to be dissapointed by a Burnside poetry collection and this is a worthy winner of the Forward prize.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
Stunning poetry, and a beautifully produced book. It is always a pleasure to possess a book of this quality - it allows the reader many visits, and each one a pleasure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2016
Collection of non-rhyming poems with a bit of spirituality and physical relationships, occasional insight into the human condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
Quite black in bits but full of feeling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
Fab Burnside poetry, well worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here