Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
367
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 December 2012
Let's be honest - if you're a cycling fan, you will have already had an opinion of Wiggins formed before the events of 2012 unfolded.

In the run up to this year he could be talented, wayward, self deprecating, vaguely self-destructive, passionate, humble, arrogant, and everything else in between. Compared with the other British guys on the scene, he was always a bit of an enigma. He could at times display the passion and eloquence of David Millar, the sheer bloody single mindedness of Mark Cavendish, and - periodically - the humility and affability of Sir Chris Hoy.

Like many, I saw him crash out of the 2011 Tour and thought "Well that's a relief" - his heart didn't seem in it, and Team Sky looked on course to miss their stated goal of winning the premier cycle race within 5 years. Then, early on in the season, things were obviously right at Sky, and more importantly right at the point where it mattered; between Wiggins' ears.

The Tour de France 2012 was, if we're honest, a bit dull - Team Sky just shut the thing down after the first week. But this actually made it more intriguing; it was obviously a team effort, a well oiled machine working at 100%. Perhaps it was also a watershed? The point where the big personalities of old dominated the race through pyramid teams (Merckx, Hainault, Armstrong, etc).

Towards the end of the Tour, it was apparent that Sky could have chosen either Froome or Wiggins to win if they wished.

This is, in essence, what this book is about. Although notionally centred on Wiggins, it really is a narrative of how Team Sky and British Cycling came to dominate 2012 on the road, and on the track. The professionalism, the science, the commitment, and the co-ordination of Brailsford and co really stand out - it is no wonder our cycle stars won so much. Through Wiggins' eyes, we are treated to an insight into this - and mightily jealous I am too. There is no hiding the fact that it didn't always work, but I'd have loved to have had the opportunity to have been part of an organisation such as this.

It also goes a long way in explaining all the praise heaped upon British Cycling by the likes of Hoy, Pendleton, Clancey, Storey, Rowsell, Thomas, Cav, Wiggo, Millar, and so on - it really is world class, and the story of Wiggins in 2012 really captures it. Once you read this book, you'll realise that in reality the BMCs, Rabobanks, OPQS, Katusha, and so on were competing against the combined might of British Cycling. It does beg the question as to how were the European teams so amateurish for so long given the money involved in the sport in the continent?

But really, in my opinion, this is an outstanding appraisal of Dave Brailsford's organisation. Wiggins winning what he did in 2012 is because of Brailsford, without him I think Bradley would still be where he was in 2009; talented, but adrift.

Allez Wiggo!
Chapeau Brailsford!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2012
I really enjoyed this book, and would recommend it to fans of cycling, and to readers who would like to know more about the psychological issues that can affect elite athletes.
I believe Bradley recounted his experiences to William Fotheringham (who `ghosted' the book), and a very personable and understandable character comes to light. That's not to say that Bradley comes across as a deity, as he certainly has his struggles. However he is very honest about what drives him, what his weaknesses are, and this makes his story all the more engaging.
My Time is a flowing read, and the observations and insights really allow the (sometimes) technical world of cycling to become much easier to grasp and understand.
Personally, I particularly enjoyed the anecdotes about the first year of Team Sky, and the frankness with which Bradley admitted he often struggled with the pressure of suddenly being a `Leader', and how he coped (or didn't) with what this entailed.
The book plots a great passage from those dark days of self-doubt to the exultation of Bradley's entrance to the Champs Elysees. Throughout the book, the scale of the dedication, hard graft, and ultimate achievement of winning the Tour really hits home, and this book is an excellent souvenir for those who lived and breathed every KM of this year's Tour.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2012
A great, inspirational insight into a true British hero.
So why only 2 stars?
A book that is a pleasure to read is hard to put down. This is a struggle to pick up.
It's been rushed into production for the Christmas market. Lots of repetitions, not only from chapter to chapter but even within the same paragraph.
Poorly written, but then William Fotheringham wrote it so why am I surprised. I've not enjoyed his style of writing in any of his books.
If it gets re-written for the second edition (perhaps by an outstanding writer like Daniel Coyle) then this would be a 5* with no hesitation.
Worth reading because it's Brad's story, but it could have been so much better.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
I started reading this after enjoying Tyler Hamilton's book on drugs and Lance Armstrong (The secret race) which was a revealing account of the skullduggery behind the cycling world. Recommended. However this book by Bradley Wiggens is one of the worst I have tried to read in a while. It appears to be ghostwritten but reads like one long sentence of chat taped from an interview. It badly needs editing. Don't bother- I wanted to like this but gave up after the first 50 pages or so!
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
I've been an armchair cycle fan ever since ITV4 started showing the Tour and watching Wiggins plot his way to winning it this year was a glorious experience.For him to follow up such an effort within days by winning the Olympic time trial showed not only complete athletic mastery but a sense of purpose and discipline rare in any walk of life. I was therefore pleased to receive a copy of "My Time" for Christmas and,although I've read it in relatively quick time,I must say that it has been a disappointment.

If there is one athlete who appears to possess personality and individuality,it is Wiggins. His various responses and utterances during the Tour were witty,honest and brave,from the savage and obscene rant against those who accused him of doping to the "raffle" comment on the victory podium in Paris. His ecstatic hand gesture on receiving yellow for the first time beat any raising of any cup by any footballer that I've seen.Yet in this book he emerges as nothing more than a decent man going about his business single mindedly with little to say about much other than training routines and the admiration he has for those in the team around him and his wife. Nothing wrong with that,of course but surely there is more to him than that.

What he says about doping and his attitude to it is interesting and moving but the most cogent words about it in the text have appeared in other places. The attempts to bring humour in tend to fall flat which is disappointing given Bradley's seemingly ready sense of the absurd.The pen portraits of those around him are often frank in part but tend to end in some variation of "I love him to bits".The attempt to recreate Bradley's own self deprecating,slightly laddish style fails to include the touch of devil that often comes with it.The cheeky,edgy quality that many admire is sadly absent and what remains is dutiful pleasantry.

The passages which deal with racing are informative but fail to capture the heady mixture of politics,strategy and sheer lung-bursting hard work that the actuality consists of.Perhaps the necessarily methodical nature of the training and its now certain outcome in victory for Wiggins and Sky described in the book must inevitably reduce the reader's enjoyment of reading about the playing out of the events.The increasing references to TSS and Vam statistics tend to mitigate one's response to the heroic efforts that they represent,interesting though it is to learn about their use.

In sum,I found it a bit dull,interesting in parts but mainly unimaginative in its approach and predictable in its treatment of what must have been towering moments of emotion in Bradley's life.There's a much better book to be written about these truly magnificent achievements.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
Bradley seems to be a true source of inspiration. I'd read both of Armstrongs books, which although we're enjoyable you always suspected that he'd made a bit of a deal with the dark side. Bradley seems to be the real deal. Was going to buy this as a gift for my dad but due to Amazons aggressive avoidance of corporation profits I've decided to pay a pound more and buy at another well known shop. I urge you to do the same until Amazon sorts itself out
11 comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
Poorly written and repetitive; I guess it is impressive that they got it published in such a short time, but it would have been better to wait and actually concentrate on getting the content up to scratch. There is clearly a good book in there trying to get out. This feels like a bit of a cash-in on a great year for BW.
It leaves lots of questions unanswered - for example, there are hints that BWs relationship with Chris Froome is not great, but this is never really dealt with openly (for obvious reasons, but we have come to expect a bit more clarity from modern 'warts and all' autobiographies).
Ultimately, most decent books take some considerable time to write, so it is hardly surprising that this is no literary masterpiece. However, with such rich subject matter, this just feels like a missed opportunity.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
Completely mixed feelings on this book - as a cyclist I enjoyed the insight into changes to training approaches, the sacrifices he makes, and some of the technical inputs. But as a reader I was left a bit cold after looking forward to it.

As other reviews mention there is an awful lot of repetition on certain subjects and I totally agree. The chapters can also be disjointed, will start to discuss a tour stage and wander off onto another random musing, fine line between this capturing a conversational feel (like a Billy Connolly joke meandering) and feeling like lazy editing, this fell in to the latter category. There are also questions about what he really thinks of some certain individuals that are left unanswered - which surprised me from such a forthright personality.

I suspect the following:
You don't get the full story on some relationships as he is much more astute at playing the corporate role and doesn't want to upset the apple cart (or someone at Sky censored).
There is so much repetition to ensure that the book looked big enough to justify the cost,
Finally it was disjointed because to ensure out in time to cash in on Christmas and SPOTY exposure not enough time was spent pulling it together.

I am still a huge Wiggo fan but think I'll wait until he retires to find out more about the man and what he really thinks on some subjects.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
Thought I would enjoy reading this after the great year Wiggins has had and the hero he has become. The book just seemed to waffle a bit and there was too much detail that it took ages to get going and get to any interesting sections. I am no bike enthusiast so maybe it would appeal to more of a bike racer. I just wanted to read a bit about the man himself and his training. If you are a cycling nut this book would be a good book for you! If you are not like me you may not enjoy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
I'd stick to the video's of Brad. Much more inspiring than this book which feels like lazy story-telling just in time for the Christmas sale - which seem to be the opposite of Bradley's approach to life himself! A shame.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.60

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)