Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
55
4.8 out of 5 stars
A Necklace Of Raindrops
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£12.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 14 August 2017
I had this book when I was a small child and loved it. The pictures are amazing and the stories are proper stories and not the meaningless stuff so many books for infants are these days. I was happy to fine this lovely edition to get as a gift for my great-niece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2005
Amanda Craig's right - Jan Pienkowski's illustrations are truly magical, which makes it unbelievable that they'd be replaced by the bland ones of this edition.
Joan Aiken's stories are perfect bedtime reading - both adult and child. They're exhilirating tales of good and evil, but tinged with an other worldliness that makes it impossible to be anything other than completely captivated. Needless to say, this is a damn fine book and you'd be an idiot not to get hold of a copy. Just try and get the Pienkowski illustrated version: they really play up to the text and make reading these lovely stories even more of a pleasure.
11 Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2017
At the time I ordered this book, it was listed as the version illustrated by Jan Pienkowski, which was my reason for purchasing it. The listing has since evidently been changed to reflect the actual content, but I was very disappointed to receive the Kevin Hawkes version since it was at the time being sold with the Pienkowski cover on the listing.

The book itself is wonderful, and was one of my favourite as a child.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
Read and loved this as a child. Great to be able to share it with mine now. Enduring stories with a difference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
Wonderful book with enchanting stories and beautiful illustrations
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2017
Beautiful, well written, magical stories. Nicely illustrated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2017
A beautiful story I read in childhood and never forgot. A lovely copy in excellent condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2009
I've been a primary school teacher for twenty five years and this has to be the all time number one favourite at story time! Children never seem to tire of it. The stories have a magical quality to them appealing to ages 5/6 upwards. The title story is the best one of the collection and has proved the most popular story in the book, but the others are still very good.
If you're new to teaching (especially Years 2 and 3) buy this book! You'll have your class in the palm of your hand!
Mums and Dads - brilliant bedtime stories - magical without being scary!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2002
One of the best possible books to give to a child, made even more magical by the exquisite silhoueete pictures of the Polish artist Jan Pienkowski. The ifrst story, about a little gilr, Laura, who gets the North Wind as her godfather after her own father untangles him, is one of the best. Laura gets a new raindrop each with a magical power to do with water (not getting wet in the rain, beoing able to make the rain stop etc) but when she takes it to school a wicked girl steals it. How Laura gets the necklace back and finds new friends is perfect. The other stories also delightful. Also thoroughly recommend Tales of A one-Way Street and A Harp of Fishbones. Older children will adore the WOlves of Willoughby Chase sequence
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2001
'Necklace of Raindrops' is an extremely endearing collection of children's stories by Joan Aiken. Joan Aiken is a wonderful story teller who takes you on journeys across the oceans and across the skies (on pies). There's plenty in 'Necklace of Raindrops' to capture the imaginations of both child and adult. Definitely a treasured addition to any bookshelf.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse