Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2006
Swayed by a Sunday Times review, I bought this book and it is certainly a lovely looking work and obviously a labour of love. Each page is a colour illustration with minimal text, since the story is told through the pictures. Don't be put off by the title, there is nothing perverted about this story! It's a tale of love, jealousy, loss and redemption and is a lovely thing to own, especially at the Amazon price! It wasn't something I, personally, would come back to again and again so I have passed it on to someone else to enjoy but at such a good price for such a nice looking thing, take a chance and find out for yourself!
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 February 2007
For anyone looking for the next 'Time Travellers Wife' this book is not for you. It is however, a beautifully designed picture novel which could easily be read in minutes but spending a little longer looking at each image makes the experience of 'reading' this well worthwhile.

The illustrations are fantastically quirky, the story is both sad and funny and all in all this is a really unique book that will take pride of place on any bookshelf.

Well worth a look
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2005
Here it is--Audrey Niffenegger's strange follow-up to her wildly popular novel "The Time Traveler's Wife." The new book is a "visual novel" of 176 pages and can be read in well under an hour--though, hopefully, you'll spend days pouring over the gorgeous pictures. Open up the book and you find that for every picture on a right-hand page there is a brief narrative caption on the left-hand page. I can best describe the artwork as being a lot like Edward Gorey (actually, the whole aesthetic of the book is Gorey-esque), a bit like Gustav Klimt (imagine Gorey getting it into his head to do Klimt figures), and not a small bit like the art of Dominic Kulcsar on his website The Wmmvrrvrrmm Place--really, up till now Dominic is the only person I know of who made good use of floating fetuses.
And the book isn't as creepy as it sounds. The "incest" business comes in this way. . . The story concerns three lonely sisters. The youngest sister falls in love with a strange man, and the oldest sister becomes wickedly jealous, thinking that she too loves the young man. When the youngest sister becomes pregnant, the middle sister begins a mystical relationship with the fetus, becoming her unborn nephew's spiritual mentor. That's about as weird as it gets--but I suppose that's weird enough!
0Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2010
Three sisters who live alone in an isolated house on the edge of town have their lives disrupted when a handsome young man falls in love with one of the sisters. The pair escape to town when one sister becomes jealous of the couple to the point where she plots to break up the union and take the man for herself. Things go badly, deaths occur, and out of the mess emerges a winged green boy.

The book feels like a dream or a fairy tale. There's minimal text to accompany the large and beautiful drawings, in fact the text seems to be almost titles of the pictures on the opposite page. This serves to tell the story at quite a fast pace so you're turning pages quickly and so it feels like an animated short rather than a book. But going back and looking at the pictures themselves, you can see Niffenegger has put a lot of effort into them. They feel as if they belong to a different time, perhaps early 19th century childrens' books.

I'm not sure if I can recommend buying it as it's quite expensive and it is a very quick read. The book is very well produced but, for me anyway, it's not the sort of book that I'll go back to again and again so I'm not sure I can recommend buying it. If, like me, you see it in the library though, it's worth it to pick up and have a read. It's a haunting vision of a tale that's not quite a picture book, not quite a comic book, but very much a good story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Three Incestuous Sisters is the second “visual novel” by American author and artist, Audrey Niffenegger. The original books were hand printed: a limited edition of ten copies. The drawings are aquatints, featuring three sisters, Clothilde, Ophile and Bettine, who live by the sea. They all look quite similar but conveniently have different coloured hair. Two of them fall in love with the same man and jealousy leads to nasty consequences. The story is a little bizarre, but Niffenegger explains it needs to be imagined as a silent film made from Japanese prints, a melodrama of sibling rivalry. The text is certainly minimal, often as little as one or two words on the page opposite the prints.

In her afterword, Niffenegger explains the complicated process involved in the hand printing. The prints, in subdued colours (except for the sisters’ hair), are quite individual, and Niffenegger’s style is distinctive. It is easy to see from her later works (The Night Book Mobile and Raven Girl) that both the quality of the art and the storytelling have improved since the earlier books. Dedicated Niffenegger fans may wish to own a copy; borrowing from the library is recommended for those who are merely “interested”. Different.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2011
Pictures are superb... I love this book!

It's not like her novels so expect something completely different, if not a little weird and wonderful.

It tells a very short but brilliant story and the illustrations are (in my mind) quite brilliant.

Thoroughly recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2011
I adored this book. It is strange and otherworldly. I feel it brought out all of the best qualities of The Time Traveller's Wife and magnified them. A wonderful book with gorgeous, haunting illustrations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2016
Not impressed with text or illustration
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2014
Another fabulous Audrey offering
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2014
Great item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£16.99
£16.99
£16.99

Need customer service? Click here