Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
30
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
26
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 January 2015
Love this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2002
This has to be one of Quentin Blake's best stories yet. Professor Dupont is ridiculously set in his ways. Every morning he goes through exactly the same routine, washing, getting dressed, putting on his tie, going downstairs and finally, throwing open the conservatory doors and exlaiming to his 10 parrots "Good morning, my fine feathered friends!" The parrots are beside themselves with the boredom of this routine and one morning decide to disappear for a little while. Your job is to turn the pages and find the parrots, which of course Professor Dupont can't find himself, so children love feeling cleverer than him. Eventually, of course, he finds them all back where they started, but in spite of this, as Mr Blake puts it, "Some people never learn."

Exquisitely illustrated, I can't rate Quentin Blake highly enough, and any child (or adult) reading it will adore it. And if you love this, try another Quentin Blake book called "Patrick" about two children, an old violin, lots of sparkly, magical happenings. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Arrived as promised, good service, and the book is a delight
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 1999
This book is currently the favourite of my 2 and 4 year old sons. It is one of the few books they can both enjoy at the same time. The story of the cockatoos, exasperated by their owner, and Quentin Blake's exceptional illustrations turn what might otherwise be perceived as yet another counting book into one in which they are interested and involved.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2011
This story is about ten cockatoos and a professor.But the cockatoos go missing.He looks everywere and although he can't see them you can spot the cockatoos in each room.
This fantastic story is sutible for toddlers,children and adults.The pictures are superb and my class like it because Quentin Blake is a incredible author and illustrator.
By Mungo

Professor Dupont has 10 cocktoos.Every day Professor Dupont does the same thing.Find out what happens to him and play a little birdy spotting game.

I loved this book!It really blows your mind. The cheeky cocktoos really make me laugh.The pitures really do jump out at you. Silly Professor Dupont is sillier than the smart cocktoos.
BY HARRIET

Cockatoos is about a man called Proffeser Dupont and his ten multicoulored cockatoos.Proffesser
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
This has to be one of Quentin Blake's best stories ever because Professor Dupont, the main character, is very lazy and can't find his exotic and mischievous cockatoos. You will be delighted with the way the story unfolds between him and his exquisitely naughty birds through outstanding illustrations!
This is a definite hit for young children and some adults! You will find yourself being drawn into the story, smiling and laughing along the way.
44 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2011
I have been a Quentin Blake fan for as long as I remember and read his books to my children when they were growing up, enchanted by his playful humour and his wonderful colourful loose style of illustrating. This time I bought the book for myself. I don't have the excuse of small children anymore but still find his books irresistable! Good for any age, and particularly for those who like to combine learning with humour and original artwork.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2009
Yr 3 Girl
Presser Dupont is funny and fantastic. He all ways dos the same thing over and over again. He winds up the cockatoos up. This book is suitable for kids and adults. Quentin Blake is a fantastic author. He writes funny books. He has his own stile about his drawing. If you see a books pitcher you well know that it is a Quentin Blake book. It is the best book ever. Everyone wad love to read it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2009
My class at Northfield Manor enjoyed this book because we thought it was funny and it will help young children to count.
Professor Dupont looked every where in his house but he couldn't find them. Eventually we find out that the Cockotoos had broken the window in the conservatory to escape Professor Duponts routine. Can you find all the Cockatoos as you read the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2008
My 2 (nearly 3) year old daughter and I read this twice every night - once each to each other (I read it, she has nearly memorised it, but her version varies slightly each time). We LOVE it. It is never a chore to read this book, she counts the "totatoos" on each page. The illustrations are excellent and humorous, giving lots of things to chat about as we go.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here