Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
41
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 29 October 2010
My son read this at school recently as they are covering World War II. Although the text is very simple the whole book is completely wonderful along with the stunning pictures. My 11 year old doesnt normally go on about books but requested this as a recent birthday present because it really affected him and he thought about the story a lot. When i purchased it and look at it myself i completely agree with him, the story is touching and saddening to say the least and i think most children and adults would also think about the same. I cant recommend it highly enough.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2009
Both of my children have read this book, and both were deeply moved by the story, it really brings home the realities of WW2. They talked about this book for a few days. It is a very strong and compelling story of a little girl growing up in WW2, completely bewildered about what is really happening all around her. Tissues at the ready!

A super book that educates children on how WW2 just wasn't about bomber planes, warships and armies - it tells the other side of war you don't see!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
Bought this book for a literacy topic for 10-11 year olds to tie in with our WWII topic. The illustrations are fantastic in this story, full of detail and you see something new each time. This, to me, seems like a more child friendly version of "the boy in the striped pyjamas" which was great for this age group. A must buy for looking at war through a child's eyes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2009
This is a very sad book which will almost certainly stir empathy in any reader. A gentle introduction to the holocaust for children age 9 and above with detailed, heart wrenching illustrations to support the story. Filled with symbolism and paying homage to The White Rose group this is an absolute must for any household.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
I used this as part of the literacy and history curriculum, and the children loved this. It is written from a German girl's perspective of WWII. The kids were curious and moved by Rose, the children in the camps, Rose's fate etc. Subtle but immensely powerful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
This is a touching story that will touch you and your child. It will engage you into a conversation about war and give that stepping stone for the time they'll start that topic at school.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2015
My 9 year old granddaughter was fascinated. Her introduction to war from the perception of a child of similar age. Beautifully written and illustrated. Seller highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
This book has fantastic illustrations. It is suitable for 9 years plus. a thought provoking book about the holocaust. lots of discussion points
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
Bought this book after being on a Reading Course with school. It looked interesting from the front cover and I wanted to read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
beautifully illustrated with words by Ian McEwan

What more could you want ! It is very suitable for a younger reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse