Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 27 July 2001
Up to the standard (no pun intended) of Scott's earlier C++ works (Effective C++ and More Effective C++). I've read half of it so far and even though it has not taught me any major new insights it has rounded out my understanding of some of the details of STL usage. One thing I particularly liked was that, while Scott doesn't pull any punches when it comes to pointing out certain flaws or quirks in the library, overall he is very enthusiastic and recommends it highly - a good balance that is inspires respect (both in him and in the library!). My only criticism is that maybe it has been contrived a little too much for the "effective" books format, and some of the material looks like he's just desperately tried to think of something that will fit (maybe that's just my interpretation). Nonetheless, Scott's accessible narrative style makes this book an essential aid to mastering the STL.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
Books by Scott Mayers are the best reading material available about C++. I keep the whole series on my desk as a reference.
It's huge fun to read, as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2017
What I needed and arrived in good shape :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2001
The STL is a boon to C++ programmers, but suffers from a lack of _good_ readable documentation - sure there are tutorials and reference books, but little to say which of several choices is actually the best in given circumstances. This book, like Meyers' Effective C++ one, does tackle that area: for example, looking at the efficiency of passing function objects to algorithms vs using function pointers. It also describes a number of areas that might have programmers scratching their heads over some non-obvious errors (such as use of erase).
The style is a bit patronising in places, but that is more than made up for by the excellent material in the book - it's one of the few STL books that warrants space on my bookshelf, not that it'll spend much time gathering dust there!
Now, if only Addison-Wesley would produce a searchable CD version of the book...
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2007
The man Meyers has worked his magic on the STL. If you've read Effective C++, then you know what to expect, and should invest accordingly. Meyers is on top of his game, finding the right balance of sage advice and dry wit as he guides you through the complexities of the STL. If you haven't read Effective C++, you really ought to before reading this one.

A wide range of advice is dispensed, including: advice on what containers to use, range member functions, avoiding loops, erase-remove, auto_ptr, associative containers, equality vs equivalence, gotchas like const keys in sets and maps and references to reference problems, efficiency in sorting, searching and inserting, iterators, functors and adapting them.

Phew. A lot of ground is covered. You will want to be familiar with the structure of the STL, I don't recommend learning the STL from scratch from this book, and you may want a good STL reference. But those aren't half as much fun to read as Scott Meyers.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2012
I've now bought all of Scott Meyers' books, and if you have anything to do with C++ then I strongly recommend you do the same.

Frankly, they are a must-have collection that describe the best way of writing C++ and using the STL. If only they'd been available all those years ago when I first learnt C++ , then I could have saved myself much grief!

Scott's style is very informal and readable. Not only does he make difficult topics easy to understand, but he does so in an interesting and accessible manner.

It's worth pointing out that these books are not intended for learning C++ from scratch, rather they are intended to show you the best ways of applying your knowledge in solving many common programming problems. This STL book focuses on getting the most out of the standard library functions, and avoiding the many pitfalls and misconceptions. All the items are explained with useful code examples (some of which may well find their way into your own libraries of most used functions/templates). Reading this book, not only do you fully understand the STL functions and how to use them properly, but also when to use them and why one may be much better suited to your particular task than the other (similar) functions.

In short, buy it (and his companion books)!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2003
Continues in the same vein as Effective C+ and More Effective C++, though a bit more focussed and in depth than the previous 2 books. Though there are good STL reference books (Josuttis, Austern), this book is a rare specimen that explores the deeper issues of STL use.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
The book content is great, as testified by many reviews online. Nothing to add there and I'm already getting some "aha!" moments by reading it.

However, please note that this edition is a cheap reprint made with very soft paper and not so crisp character typesetting. I quote from page 3:
"Published by Dorling Kindersley (India) Pvt. Ltd., licensees of Pearson Education in South Asia. [...] Digitally Printed in India by Repro India Ltd. in the year of 2013."

This is not a major problem, apart from the paper and ink being of the cheap quality and some occasional lines looking oddly blurred (this does not happen often in my copy - maybe a dozen times overall). If you care about aesthetics and durability of this text in your bookshelf for many years to come, consider investing the extra money for a European or American edition. Otherwise this version will be just fine.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2011
It is easy to get started with STL, and make some code that works. Problem is that STL is actually so efficient, that you may not notice that you do something wrong. There is no such thing as a default container to handle all problems that involves a collection of objects. STL is fast, and this book explains how to make correct use of STL, pressing all the juice out of the lemon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2005
This is quite an advanced book covering application
specific issues when using STL. It assumes prior knowledge
and experience of STL, so it complements a good STL reference
text like "Josuttis" quite nicely. It is like all Scott Meyers
book packed with information and extremely useful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)