Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
13
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 August 2000
An excellent introduction to the operation of the classic TCP/IP protocols. Taking a step-by-step approach accompanied by interpreted tcpdump traces of real-world examples this is a thorough grounding in the basics of TCP/IP. Sadly, because of the death of the author, it will not be updated but this volume and its companions in the series will remain worth buying and studying for some time to come.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 1998
WR Stevens has compiled the essential desk drawer reference book on TCP/IP. IP has evolved since 1994 and this book doesn't have that later coverage. But for the basics, in an easy to read, superbly descriptive and insightful style with great real-world traces and tips from an obvious expert in his field, this text maybe all that you will need on TCP/IP protocols.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2001
The definite IPv4 book! If you really want to understand what's going on those layers, this is the book you have to buy. A MUST for anywone serious about IP.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2003
TCP/IP Illustated is what I (and many other people) consider the bible on TCP/IP. Stevens explains every aspect of the TCP/IP protocol suite in words techies can comprehense. The book it self requires some basic tcp/ip and unix knowledge. A great book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2003
This was such an interesting and well written book about tcp/ip that i have read it from start to the end 2 times when i bought it in mid 90's and i would welcome another reading for review.It is a must for someone who wants to learn tcp/ip in depth.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2011
This is a very good book to learn TCP/IP bit it is now a little dated, no doubt in it's day it would be worthy of 5-stars but I would recommend Internetworking with TCP/IP: v. 1: Principles, Protocols and Architecture by Douglas E. Comer as my TCP/IP reference book of choice which I also found to be a more enjoyable read; the 5th Edition of that was released in 2005 and includes sections discussing NAT/VPN, MPLS and other technologies in use today.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2002
I decided to give this book a go as it was all the rave in reviews. I must say that I did not regret my decision. It is well written and non-pretentious. Some of the more recent developments (such as IPv6 and NewReno TCP) are absent but still, this is the perfect introduction to TCP/IP and one of the most frequently cited texts in TCP analytical modeling papers.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2000
Don't be fooled by other TCP/IP books. This book is meaty,clear and a joy to read. An absolute must!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2011
I've been a HTTP programmer for years, but had become increasingly frustrated with my lack of knowledge of the deeper protocols. This book was the answer, and I now have a much better understanding of the Internet Protocol Suite, from topics such as IP routing to the differences between the various transport layer protocols such TCP and UDP.

It could be argued this isn't the best book for a network administrator, as it's perhaps a little too theoretical, but for a web programmer who is interested in exactly how the Internet works this book is perfect.

Only 4 stars, as it's starting to get a little out of date, there's no coverage of IPv6 or NAT routing for example. That said most of the content is still relevant today, and I'm not aware of a better book for learning IP.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2010
This is simply THE BEST book about TCP/IP protocols series (although does not contain information for many of the newer protocols/RFC additions due its age). This is the IT bible. Should I say anything else?
You should not buy the volume 2 and 3 unless you really know what you are doing. :) For those with the programming background like myself volume 2 is very helpful to get a better understanding how certain features normally implemented (using BSD tcp stack example).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)