Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
33
4.5 out of 5 stars
Neutrino
Format: Paperback|Change


on 15 August 2014
This is the story of discovery of neutrino and experiments to detect it. My only criticism is that at times the history is repetitive. But as it is one the few popular book on the subject, it is worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
Call me sad but when i had finished te book, i immediately wanted to read it again - fascinating !! easy enough read due to authors descriptions. a must for anyone remotely interested in physics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
I bought this at the same time as Antimatter. This is the better book, but still not great. You can probably get much of the info of wikipedia in a much shorter time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
The mysterious quantum, so reluctant to show itself, so rich in future knowledge. Is it its own antiparticle? We still don't have the answer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2011
I took this book on holiday to intermingle with some crime fiction and found it very informative. Frank Close has an easy style and introduced the various scientists steadily whilst moving the story along at a good pace.I had read 'Spaceship Neutrino' by Christine Sutton 2 or 3 years ago and both books cover the subject very well. At the end of this book I felt that I knew the people better but was still struggling to understand whether there was even a proposed mechanism for the way in which neutrinos change flavour and why they had to be created separately for conservation reasons but could then transform. It wasn't clear whether it's too complicated for this book or just has no current proposals.
Nevertheless, a very satisfying read and I will keep an eye out for future developments.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2015
A thoroughly good read and very informative - glad I bought it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2015
Good concise account but somewhat out of date
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2012
A wonderful read, and a must read for anyone interested in particle physics. Very well written, and pitched perfectly for the intelligent public. I'm looking forward to re-reading this in the future!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2015
Great book !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)