Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Playlist - Acoustic Christmas Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 3 January 2014
One of the very few books I have read that actually has made me laugh out loud! A great read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2015
A splendid up-date of Ned Sherrin's original. This is a great book for "dipping into" i.e. during Commercial TV Ad Breaks. It's also a triumph of indexing (by theme, by author and by context). Strongly recommended for anyone involved with talks. speech-writing or lecturing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 December 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
While paper books appear to becoming obsolete with ebooks etc I still like to keep an "old fashioned library" of reference books in my bookcase. The latest addition is Gyles Brandreth's Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations. This is, quite simply, the ultimate collection of wisecracks,quotations and one-liners to fit any subject you care to mention. Presented alphabetically from "Academic Life" through to "Youth" each offering is meticulously indexed and referenced. Perfect for dipping in and out of, the contents are both clever and very, very funny - a quotation for every occasion. Gyles Brandreth has produced a superb fifth edition of this title which I wholeheartedly recommend - not only is it a delight to read, it is also a beautiful book worthy of 5*.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2014
Whether for lectures or sermons or general speechmaking - good quotations are invaluable and this volume is crammed with a mass of useful quotations on pretty well every subject - a gold mine!.

Brian Anderson
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2014
Great book, laid out with many headings.A 10 min. browse whilst you are waiting for her to finish her face. Excellent when looking for a really apposite quotation to slip into a talk.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2014
I couldn't have used my Amazon Gift token in a more useful way. I know that Christmas is a time for enjoyment, and this book is full of sayings that would make anyone smile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2014
I bought this as a present for a friend. I had a look through it first and liked it very much, and the recipient is delighted with it. I thought it made a good loo book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2014
A great book to pick up as and when one feels the need to read quotations from usually very clever people with humour. Can cheer you up at 'down times'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2016
Recipient absolutely loved this book. He still looks at it most days (had for 3 months now)- would highly recommend to anyone who likes amusing quotes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2016
BOUGHT FOR HUSBAND FOR CHRISTMAS SO HAVE NO IDEA IF ANY GOOD. BUT KNOWING HE IT WILL BE VERY GOOD AS HE HAS A FEW BOOKS BY GYLES AND LOVES THEM ALL
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)