Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 January 2016
Bought as a gift for my father and was ideal. Arrived in perfect condition too. Would definitely recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
lively approach
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2016
satisfactory new book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2017
Arrived on time, so no problems at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
A useful addition to the series of overviews going back to Gibbon, dealing with the subject from many useful angles.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2015
Perfect for my OU course - and hopefully my final one for my Classics degree
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
This is an unusually structured book: more or less straightforward historical sections interspersed with thematic analysis. The former are assisted by a potted history at the beginning that is very helpful as a summary of key historical phases.

While I enjoyed reading the whole text, the thematic sections were more engaging. Woolf is clear about key aspects of the Roman Empire and society, for example the extent to which slavery was deployed. Equally, there is sane, balanced analysis. For example, Woolf comments that, while exploitation was no doubt involved in the building of aqueducts and bathhouses, some (non-élite) people may have benefited from the work. To a large extent, readers are left with sufficient space to reach their own judgements.

I would recommend this book both to anyone approaching the history of the Roman Empire for the first time and, because of its details and insight, to readers already more familiar with the subject matter.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2015
open university required reading
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2015
Not happy. The book is badly bound so I cant read the end of a line without having to force the book open as wide as possible and hold it in that position all the time. The book also has narrow margins so can't make any notes. I bought this book as a set book for studying and the state of this book makes it very difficult to use. I am not happy and if It hadn't taken so long to receive this book, I would have sent it back an gone elsewhere to find one from a different print run.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse