Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 March 2017
Book in extremely good condition. Same content as the new editions just not as updated. Can s very much be used to pass an exam
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
As a non-academic this is a well structured and easy to digest publication that takes the reader through the issues surrounding world politics in bite size chunks. the summary boxes are excellent as is the additional on line support provided.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
I bought it for a 'very good' quality, but actually it is quite old with a lot of notes inside. There are notes stick in some pages and writing in pencil and pen in most pages. It might help, though, I still prefer one without notes and folds, and that's why I choose 'very good' quality not 'good'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2012
This book is OK but over-simplistic in places and strangely patronising than others. For example, is [...] this diagram really necessary to explain a really basic concept? Also the price is a bit much, and buying second-hand is likely to make it a better-value purpose.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
This textbook is really nice! :) I enjoyed reading it everyday step by step and cannot stop reading it, as it is quite interesting and useful!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
I had to read this book for a class, but was pleasantly surprised by its quality and student-friendless. You couldn't ask for a better introduction to international relations. I highly recommend this book, not just to students of politics, but also to people interested in globalization and world politics in general.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2013
Generally an overall good book literally, but the binding itself is horrible. You have to break the back to make use of it, and reading is uncomfortable in the first some 50 pages, and last 50 pages; and the inner margins are way too small. The sections of globalization is the worst part of the book, which is unclear, omitting, somewhat contradicting and biased.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2001
I think that this is an excellent book. I wholly recomend that you go out and get it. I am a first year at university and I have used this book. It deals in depth with international relations theory in a clear and concise way. It's not mind boggling at all, it is written in a way that is easy to understand. At the end of each chapter it summarises the arguments for and against in bullet points which comes in handy when you are revising. One thing that sets it apart from some of the other recomended texts (for those venturing into the unknown world of international relations) is that it doesn't focus entirely on theory, because as a frist year you are likely to cover other subjects as well. It deals with theory in the first few chapters but as the book progresses it deals with other issues, but does still emphasise the theoretical standpoints which is also handy for revision. It is a good all round book that uses great examples to help you relate to and understand the subject better.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2012
For anyone studying International Relations at university I highly recommend this textbook. It reviews all of the major theoretical approaches (Realism, liberalism, neo-realism, neo-liberalism, social constructivism, Marxism etc.) but is also more up to date on recent theoretical developments and allows more room for alternative or dissident views (poststructuralism, postmodernism, critical theory, feminist perspectives, etc). It has a huge range of chapters on contemporary issues and is well structured to make digestion of the information easier (division into appropriate sub-tops, recall boxes, case study boxes and so on). Its only weakness is that it tends to oversimplify certain concepts and ideas but that is a charge that could probably be levelled at most undergraduate textbooks.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2016
I had to buy it for university. This is one of the worst books on international relations I have ever read. This book is written by different authors, every chapter is written by a different person therefore chapters don't have a connection. It's written in a very confused way, often in a chapter the author forgets what is the main subject their writing about and he's simply giving you a lot of unnecesary information. There are better books out there on internationals relations such as Introduction to International relations by professor Grieco etc.
I don't recommend this book to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse