Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2017
Can't really fault the medical content, but I cannot physically read the text. It's in teeny tiny font, the pages are thin so that print and colour from the other side of the paper interferes with the content you're trying to look at and just when you think it can't get any worse, some of the text is printed with a shadow which makes it look blurred because it's so tiny. I think a slightly larger format or slightly less textbook detail with more space and a larger font would make it more useable. Let's face it, in a clinical situation you don't need an entire textbook on clinical medicine in your pocket because you're not going to stand there in front of a patient and read pages and pages of text. Sometimes less would be more. This is one of those times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
Fantastic book - great for the specialities included; covers subjects in a useful amount of detail, without becoming overly complicated. Worth looking through the list of specialities covered before purchasing, as although the information in the book is great, it doesn't cover certain specialities, such as obstetrics. These are covered in the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Specialities however.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
As someone that's closing on their finals I can honestly say that this book is a must have. If you don't have it and insist on the K&C. Good for you but after having both, the Kumar and Clarke is a bit more wordy and explains things a lot but actually - it doesn't get down to the nitty gritty of management i.e. which antibiotics and dosage. A lot of the time in K&C it'll say something like NSAIDs or IV antibiotics. That's not enough!

However the Oxford handbook doesn't have it all. The layout will forever be a foe for many of those that rely on reading in coherent prose and full sentences, something this book skimps on in order to be concise. I can agree with that but however the authors must have sacrificed that in order to provide you with a reference that is all encompassing and covers a lot of ground in one book.

Now my hangups about this edition. The quality of the paper has plummeted. Like another reviewer mentioned the text seems a lot more "faded" and on much thinner paper. A lot of the time you can actually read whatever's under the previous/next page easily. The 8th edition although thinner seemed to have much sturdier quality with actually bleach white paper compared to this hybrid tissue paper variety. I've checked in multiple shops to confirm all the 9th ed copies are all exactly the same with this poorer quality paper. It really does make a difference. It's harder to memorise facts if the paper is all faded and dull looking rather than the vibrant 8th ed which actually contains virtually the same text.

A particular issue I have is that a number of useful tables have actually been removed for whatever reason I don't know. For example under the Acute Kidney Injury section in the 8th ed (called Acute Renal Failure) there was a useful table differentiating between Pre-renal and tubular causes from urinalysis. This was so useful but now it's been removed! All I can say is that these little memory aid gems are crucial for students and to remove them to stick in a FURTHER reiteration of management (which you'll find is repeated twice in the AKI section of the 9th edn) is a shame.

At the moment I can't think of further examples but overall if you don't have a handbook. Go for this one. Buy some highlighters or make your own notes and the faded ink won't bother you. If you however own the 8th ed already - save yourself some money, buy the assess and progress book and use the NICE/BTS guidelines to double check subtle changes in management. Even so it's unlikely your medical school will shoot you for using slightly outdated management plans and as a junior doctor you're going to have to use local policy guidelines for a number of presentations anyway.

If anyone has questions I'm happy to reply if you comment here. Helps me procrastinate instead of prep for finals. Good luck everyone!

JK
55 Comments| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2016
Thanks, a must have handbook for any doctor/student
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
As expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
Great, can recommend version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2017
Good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
A lifesaver, good size to take on placements and I even used it to revise for my exams
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
The book is badly bound, stuck onto the binding by only the last page, which tore within a couple of weeks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2017
Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)