Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 May 2013
I read this having already gained a moderate amount of experience with R but wanted a little refresher. The book is about the smallest R book you can get but will tell you how to get up and running, import typical data i.e. tab delimited files etc and then it moves onto graphical representations of the data before concluding with a chapter on basic statistics.
The strengths of the book are that its brief and not too benumbing. If you follow their instructions it will work and the authors are at pains to make things facile.

I suppose i can't criticize it for not providing information on how to draw more sophisticated graphs, for example using ggplot2, since that is not its intention. The graphs section is limited to mainly scatter plots and bar charts but it does cover error bars. Other R books tend to view error bars as something impure and taboo for some reason 'real' statisticians prefer things like box plots etc (also presented here). But lets face it most of us biologists have bar charts that need error bars and the authors show a way to do this (its not 'built into R')

I suppose the main criticism I would have is just the omission of making one concept crystal clear. They use data files presented in what is described as 'long' format. That means each column is a variable and each row pertains to the object under study. e.g. if measuring people's height, weight, hair colour then each person has a row and those variables are in columns. Sounds obvious but i have seen many people's data in excel including my own where one doesn't strictly adhere to that format. As long as the data is like that then everything will work in this book. There are R packages to change the format of data like reshape but its easy enough just to do it in excel for the beginner.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
Its ok, but not really comprehensive enough once past the basics. I used it to supplement lecture notes on an R course, mostly to give me a second voice in getting to grips with the programming basics. I was new to programming, but if you have some basic programming competence I think a more comprehensive text would be better. Similarly I think the statistics it covers is somewhat limited and again a more complete statistics textbook might be a better bet. So as the title says an introduction to help get you started but not really enough to use without more comprehensive texts to move on and the wrong book I think if you have a good programming background.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2015
I purchased this book one year ago as an introduction to R programming for statistics and graphics. Over the Christmas break (2 weeks) i worked through this book; but it could easily be done in a few days. Since then i have used R for all my graphs and charts, for my statistics and for some basic bioinformatics. After completion of this book i was able to use the R community to solve further problems. I have now used R (graphs and statistics) for posters, conference presentations and an accepted (but not yet published) paper. I cannot thank Andrew enough. His clear explanations helped me start out on a most satisfying discovery.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2012
Excellent manual!
Kick-starting with R would probably be a more appropriate title.

We all know how hard is to move the first steps with R.
The advantages are ultimately worth the effort, but many beginners might just quit using it after spending days trying to make the software read the data (until realizing that the problem was probably a damn missing comma).
Or, after learning the basics (or trying to do so) by trial and error, they often start attending courses which are already one step ahead, while still lacking a real confidence in the basic skills.
At least, this was my personal experience.

Then I was lucky enough to step into this book.
This manual finally focuses on the very basics (and a bit more) step by step.
It is small enough (about 100 pages) to be not scary.
Most of all, THIS BOOK TEACHES A METHOD.
How to put data in R? What to do with data before analyzing them? How to do nice (and helpful) graphs? How to perform an analysis and interpret the results? How to handle warning and error messages? How to go through a help file without panicking?

Really, an excellent book for students and absolute beginners as well as for users that never had the opportunity of going through the basics from level zero.
You'll love it.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
Shorter than I'd expected but it gives very good introduction to R, taking you through elementary scripts, inputting data and plotting graphs as well as basic stats. Easy to follow. On the minus side, you'll soon want something more substantial, but it does what it says on the tin, which is what I wanted.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
This book is written in an understandable and humorous language. Things are explained and rehashed several times. It is sure to give you a solid start to using R.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2017
Excellent, work through this and you will get R, there will be swearing and frustration especially if you are not using R studio,but you will get there in the end. You will understand why R is called R when you manage to do your first plot!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2016
At last a book about R which focuses on my field of study. There are kerchillions of pieces of code for R, but this book whittles them down to that few thousand or so most used in biology. It's become a bit of an stats bible!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2016
This book is excellent for teaching yourself how to use R. Maybe slightly patronising at times, but all in all, I understand everything I've covered in the book so far which is what's important.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
Guides you step by step in R, great for ease the initial learning curve.

I recommend it to anyone that is starting with R, you have to know the statistical concepts first though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)