Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
41
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£35.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 February 2016
Brought this at the start of university in 2012, in my last year now and still use it to help me with some familiar back ground understanding. A little bit much for dyslexic people. But I'm not saying we can't understand it. But it is a little bit of a struggle
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2012
Despite being advised to use Newburn's text as the prime focus for my criminology module I have found the writings of Maguire et al to be equally good, if not better, used in first year crim. module and using it in my second for annotated bibliography and essay alike
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
Its amazing and very helpful if you study criminology you wont be disappointed. Everything is there, written nicely and easy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
Absolutely perfect, and arrived the next day (free postage with Prime) :) Have not yet read the entire book, but friends have assured me that this was particularly useful through their first year at university, as well as their second.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
Provides great introductory chapters for many topics in criminology. Lots of great citations to follow up, and lots of coverage! I am doing criminology as a paper in the 3rd year of a degree course, so this sort of handbook is perfect when your well past the stage of using textbooks. The chapters i've read are well written too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2012
For first years studying criminology at any university, this book will practically save your life a few hundred times! The book is descriptive and informative.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2012
Had to use this book for my university course and it is perfect for just that. Also for only coming out this year the price wasn't too bad. I have recommended it to other people as every criminology student should have this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
Exactly what i wanted and the item has proved to be great value for the money that i paid for it
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
I was not very far from 5 stars. The document was able to provide complex content in a well-structured and clear way. However, the inconvenient of the mix of different authors across the different chapters result in very different qualities from one chapter to the other.

There is no worse than after a long day of study you come to a sentence stating that "the YIB began collecting FTE data [and the] FTEs became baseline for the FTE Target". Well,simple isn't it ? Thanks god that the "PNDs was excluded" but even with that it took me an extra hour to decode all the abbreviations used in chapter 17.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
An excellent handbook of criminology for everyone who has to deal with these subjects.

I strongly recommend the purchase of this handbook.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse