Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
91
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 2015
Wonderful book, has helped me immensely in my undergraduate course so far. The book was delivered the next day so I didnt need to wait at all which was fantastic.

The packaging was great - the book was well protected and had no creases or folds which was excellent!

I would highly recommend to anyone looking to do research in any social science field - this book has it all :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
I bought this book in the hopes that it would help me with my degree (Currently a student in Criminology) and this book has been an absolute lifesaver.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
This book covers everything that I need to know about social research methods. I would recommend this to all sociology or social policy and sociology students. I was required to use this in the first year of my degree and am still using it now,. It is a good investment as it is something that you will always need. It is a thick, easy to navigate text book which covers all there is to know about social research. If you are doing or studying any thing to do with social research, get this book. It is not just a book that you will use for a year, you will use it for a lifetime
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
He obviously favours sociology, it comes across and he gears everything towards it.
"True experiments are are quite unusual in sociology, but are employed in related areas of enquiry, such as social psychology and organizational studies"..."Why, then, bother to include experimental designs at all in the context of a book about social research?"
He seriously has to be joking here, psychology employs the experimental method ALL THE TIME. It is a major part of social research, just because it is not commonly used in sociology does not mean it is any less relevant, the book is about social research methods not sociology research methods.
"Are you studying for a degree in sociology, politics, criminology or any other social science discipline?" Says that on the back cover. Why are the others not important enough for a mention? Sociology gets put first and criminology gets a mention (basically just the sociology of crime) but the other few disciplines don't?
He needs to get his head screwed on, the book is about research, not sociology. Otherwise the book is good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2012
I'm a university students studying sociology and wanted a book which explained the ins and outs of research methods, and this certainly did!

The content is thorough and very understandable, and it also has a great section explaining what all the terms mean which are great to reference!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
I used this book when studying for a Masters in Education. I wouldn't have managed to do half of my literature review without it! It was very useful, good quality and seemed to have the answer to everything!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
This book has proven to be very beneficial.. to look for answers for sample exam questions and to read in preparation for the next class.. gives you a good understanding of various topics.. would recommend this book to abyone who is interested in qualitative research.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2012
This book is a comprehensive analysis of all current research methods. Points made are reinforced by practical examples and anecdotes. Besides, it is up-to-date and very relevant to any undertaking this type of research.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
As Orthopaedic Medicine MSc student I have been suggested this textbook. Honestly it doesn't exactly fit my discipline, but I could find many great ideas about how to structure my dissertation proposal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2003
Bryman is a perfect book for referal however it does assume prior sociologiacal knowledge and does tend to use specialised language with no explanation.
Apart from this the text is well organised with helpfull conclusions and help boxes to aid the reader.
Agood book to be used for looking up specific answers in detail.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)