Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
14
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 September 2005
This was a life saver for me. Clear, intelligently written with critical comment BUT easy to grasp basics. Puts all the so-called "big books" to shame.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 February 2004
This is probably the best International Law textbook available for students, simply because it covers the key issues in just about the right amount of detail and doesn't get too bogged down in the details. Other International Law books available appear to be designed for true academics and professionals - students simply do not need such a high level of detail and would do better to read something like this, which explains things clearly and reasonably concisely.
Martin Dixon's style is very readable and gets the key information across well, but just one word of warning: in places, he uses snatches of his own terminology, and some of the cases and topics are clearly covered from Dixon's own standpoint on this subject. This book will work well for picking up the key principles and cases within a short space of time, but do bear in mind that there are other approaches to the subject than this author's.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
While this book covers the basics, it also is rather basic in some of its analyses. Comparing it to the older works of Cassese, unfortunately, this book falls short. It is helpful for a refresher course or quick revision purposes but not as a principle text book in international law.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2012
This is an excellent book. It's highly informative, has a good format and combines legislative authority with modern and very interesting real-life demonstrations. It's detailed and yet easy to comprehend. A perfect textbook for those studying the subject.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2010
I have used most of the bigger international law books out there, and this is clearly the best one. Dixon explains everything in a way that is very easy to understand. The structure of the book is easy to follow, and it is also simple to look up specific topics. Don't bother with any study guides, nutshells, introduction books etc, this book will introduce international law in an easy, clear way while still giving you the content you need for exams.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2011
This book really helped me study for my course International law! Excellent help. Perhaps not very in-depth but covers all the most important things. It's an introduction not an extensive study!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
Really helped me with my International Public Law module at university; my lecturer has a very heavy Spanish accent so it can be hard to understand lol
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2011
A good book in perfect condition. It arrived quicker than expected and I there could be no complaints. First essay done already based on my reading!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2014
Well written text. Easy to understand especially for someone from a non-law background reading international law for post graduate studies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
Good International Law Textbook - brand new

Good coverage of the topic of International Law in a easy to understand way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse