Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 17 October 2017
I have read a lot of books on leadership, I've had a go at it myself and I'm genuinely convinced that most of the time we don't even share a common understanding of what we're talking about when we discuss 'leadership', much less what is 'good leadership'. But if anyone comes close to offering a rounded perspective and more nuanced view than most it's Keith Grint: I like this book for its breadth of approach, its reasoned arguments and its readability. Keith is a very credible academic with a good claim to be listened to, but this book is by no means a dry, dusty tome and avoids the petty spite that some academics succumb to.

If you're looking for a list of 'things you must do to be a great leader' then this won't suit you at all.

If you're looking for a book that is essentially 'why the author is a great leader' then this isn't going to be much interest either.

If, however, you're looking for a book that takes you through the history of thought on the subject, offers a reasoned critique of the theories and gives you some real food for thought, and perhaps some ideas you can use in the real world, then I recommend this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 December 2017
Good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2017
was informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2017
In good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2010
According to this book there are over 53,000 books on the topic of leadership on Amazon. This is a worthy addition to that list. The author skilfully combines academic and popular styles to build up the reader's knowledge of the subject of leadership. He touches on topics as diverse as Plato's republic, Hitler youth and "Lord of the Rings" to illustrate the differing types of leadership styles and how these have historically changed depending on the social context. There is an excellent use of compact and informative diagrams which illustrate the author's points. Whilst I might disagree with the author on some topics, such as his views on the "Great Men" style of leadership - he makes his arguments clearly and well. Apart from a minor quibbles about at times poor referencing of source material in the text, a recommended read.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2014
Having read Grint's 'full' version of this book 'Leadership, limits and possibilities' I have to say this version still remains my favourite.

Grint has quite a challenging and philosophical approach to leadership and this book is certainly no 'how to' or training manual for leadership. What it does however is to challenge your thinking and force you to reflect on what leadership actually is. Which to be honest nobody seems to know.

Am I a better leader for reading this book, perhaps, has my knowledge of leadership been expanded, no (read Northouse - leadership and practice for that). Is it a good little read to kill the time on a 3 hour train ride, yes.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2012
I once (returning to work) had a conversation with a man who had recently been made 'Partner'. I asked him what one had to do to achieve such and he replied that one had to have 'Partnership Quality'. His obvious inability to explain the reason for his success, continued to puzzle me. That he was later thrown out, unceremoniously by his Partners, suggests that my incomprehension was not misplaced.

There are as the author notes, endless books here on Leadership, with the unspoken aspiration that all proper people are Natural Leaders or should at least aspire to Leadership; but one cannot have Leaders without many Followers and those books merely appeal to their readers insecurity. From my experience, most leaders are jealously insecure self-opinionated bullies and damaging to the organisation they lead, and I have never been able to determine whether that sort of person seeks leadership or whether leadership brings about those regrettable characteristics.

Some VSIs are a little short; some a little long, but this one although just right puts out in its last chapter the most tantalising possibilities for further consideration as it considers Sacrifice, Scapegoats, Sacrilege, and Exclusion. In short: This book builds to a climax!

If I have to find any fault with the book, a tendency to swallow whole Feminist Ideology, is unfortunate, but rather par for the course, generally, these days, in Academia, I regret to say.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2015
The item arrived on time and in perfect condition, however the book is so badly written I couldn't bear to finish it.

Although this book offers the occasional snippet of interesting historical or theoretical leadership related information, the author seems to revel in the complications of leadership, which results in an essay that goes round in circles again and again to stress how difficult the subject is, but mostly making it extremely tedious for the reader.

It's a shame as I've read two other books in this series by different authors who realise that the essence of the theme 'A Very Short Introduction' makes it difficult to cover the whole subject in such a limited length and thus make every word count.

I wish the author of Leadership A Very Short Introduction would take his own advice and find a less clumsy solution to the 'wicked problem' that is writing about leadership instead of delighting in the topic's paradoxes. Disappoint your followers (readers) at a rate they can manage, not at such a rate that they drop off.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2017
item received with many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2017
Product as advertised, no issues. Would buy again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)