Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
30
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2017
Great reference, simple language and well structure
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
fab
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2003
This is probably the best and most comprehensive intro Sociology textbook available for students. I really like the style of the cover and the layout of the book. The web-site is a real help for young lecturers too. I can't think of anything that has been left out and the coverage is always clear and easy to understand for my students. The last edition was patchy, but good. This one is close to exemplary.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 12 March 2012
This well-illustrated 879-page 4th edition(2011) of Sociology contains much new material including a 'concepts and theories' section in each chapter with more attention given to global perspectives.
The 19 chapters are divided into 5 parts: 'Theories and Methods'; 'Social Identities'; 'Culture, Knowledge and Belief'; Social Organization and Control' & 'Production, Inequalities and Social Divisions'.
This intellectually stimulating, comprehensive and jargon-free guide to sociology is ideal for undergraduates and anyone wishing to make sense of our complex social world.
There is also a very useful Online Resource Centre that accompanies the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2009
comprehensive and easy to follow with a lot of subjects. If you are a first year student and totally new to sociology, this book is a good add-on to explain subjects in detail
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2011
I bought this book, again, because it was part of my essential reading list. I picked this one in particular from the three choices because it had been updated the most recently and I definitely don't regret it.

I love the format of the book and the clear way ideas, theories and information are presented. With each new theory and each part of explanation, there is a relevant day-to-day example of how what that particular sociologist thought applies. At the end of each chapter, there are activities that are fun and interesting to do.

I'd warmly recommend this book to everybody who is interested in Sociology.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2007
This book proved to be very helpful when studying a sociology and criminology degree. There is information covering a wide range of topics, and because of the layout of the book, its easier to understand. I would recommend this book to any student studying a sociology degree as its very helpful.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2012
I bought this second hand and the condition was really good.

It really helps me when I want to read deeply about a certain topic as it gives detailed definitions and goes into depth about everything it mentions.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2012
This revised text provides a firm foundation for A level and first degree students studying Sociology. The information and language is clear. I have used it with students in many countries and they find it accessable and have uintereting the material. I have used the text in its previous editions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2011
the book was perfect, almost new. it took about 2 days longer to deliver than the estimated time. the book is really jsimple in te way its structured and it makes finding specific topics easier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£21.83
£26.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)