Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
9
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 January 2015
A little more used than I'd hoped as the copy had been annotated in ink by a previous, but still a good buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2011
This translation of Piers Plowman is easy to read and helpful against the original text if you are struggling with that. Perhaps it can be read too quickly and the historical background somewhat glided over without the thought which it deserves. Certainly a good introduction to the work for newcomers. An interesting book to have on your shelf beside a critical edition of the B-Text.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
The Vision of Piers Plowman is a marvellous work. It is filled with pictures of mediaeval life in which human behave exactly as they do today. It has beautiful language and moral arguments that still remain open in the 21st Century. The Schmidt translation (prose) is the clearest I have found, bringing the text to life in a colloquial manner and including excellent notes.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2004
This is a translation of the medieval poem 'Piers Plowman', by William Langland; though a clerk by day at night Langland worked on his masterpiece of comic farce with a view to eventually rivalling Chaucer as the King of Farce in literary England. He succeeds admirably, and this is brought out in Schmidt's rollicking rendition (as announced in the introduction, this is a work "to be read aloud") which really enhances the comedy of such lines as "Thou'rt too slow, my simple donkey/ I would thou were become a monkey!", where the off-rhyme only adds to our appreciation of this comic genius.
Schmidt should be applauded for his daring in tackling such a popular poem, and choosing to enhance the readability of such an old text with his ear for modern english: I would recommend this book to anyone interested in bar brawls, loose women and simple good fun (though not always clean!). Another classic from the Master.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2010
Enjoyable and informative. I got even more from this book than I expected. Piers is everymans hero of faith with his charge to "do well" in this world. Which shelf to put it on - Medieval or Religous literature? All Christians should read it.
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
I have wanted this book for a long time and whilst I haven't finished it I am thouroughly enjoying it. Very accessible
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2017
Interesting commentary on the 14th century.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2015
Historically very revealing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
I have often thought I would like to have a copy, but unfortunately found it tedious to read at length.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse