Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
13
Oxford Handbook of Ophthalmology (Oxford Medical Handbooks)
Format: Flexibound|Change
Price:£34.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 7 February 2016
Very good book with sufficient details. Definitely recommend for those casualty sessions to double check your management.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2007
Typical Oxford style handbook. Thorough, up-to-date, concise and succinct. Useful chapters on clinical skills (such as slit lamp parts) and investigations. Laser settings are quite handy. Trial summaries and Royal College of Ophthalmologist (UK) guidelines are very useful, particularly for UK trainees.

Missing topics: Ocular ischaemic syndrome. Usher syndrome (especially when there is a full chapter on radiation retinopathy!!). No EDTRS classification for diabetic retinopathy.

All in all, I would recommend this book. Worth the investment (only £17 from Amazon).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2013
I lost my previous book, so got this edition. It was cheaper, good quality and arrived in time. Paper quality is good. The best thing in this book are the new chapters.
Will definitely recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2012
This is an excellent handbook for trainee doctors looking for a pocket-sized reference, which gives a sound basis to most topics. I bet you will find succinct information in this book quicker than an iPad websearch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2014
I'm a optometry student, i found this book very handy and useful to refer back to. Helpful for exams and recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2013
Very useful quick guide about all ophthalmology related eye problems. No pictures. I got the used one which had some watermarks but it was reasonably priced rather than paying the full price for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2015
It is an excellent handbook for that period of time it was written, whereas the 3rd Edition is more updated and from this edition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2013
The product arrived okay, but there is no colored pictures at all! I was hoping this would help me with my ophtalmo exams, that features fundus pictures...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2015
A must have book for any ophthalmologist trainee.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 April 2006
This book is invaluable for all those who come into contact with patients complaining of eye symptoms.
For those starting out in ophthalmology it is concise enough to help you get on with helping the patient, whilst still managing to cram in the detail should you need it.
I would especially recommend it those who are in an F2 post or GPVTS post in ophthalmology. It can be very daunting to start out and this book contains information not just on eye disease but on how to examine the eye so that you can get starting that little bit quicker.
General Practitioners will find this book useful as it is a small book that can quickly help explain a patients symptoms and signs and so demystifying what can be a very difficult speciality.
This book is a welcome additon to the Oxford Handbook series and continues the series high standard that we are all accustomed to.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)