Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
9
4.3 out of 5 stars


VINE VOICEon 6 August 2013
The Very Short Introduction series are written by professors of the subject and are aimed at provoking cross-discipline intrigue in the reader that may incite further investigation and reading - and boy are they good at achieving exactly that; often they leave more questions than answers.

So hot off the heels of Bacteria:VSI &Viruses:VSI I approached this booked assuming it was going to follow on nicely, detailing some of the more serious of epidemics and pandemics, having had my interest piqued by the previous subjects. However, what this book neglects to mention is that it is mainly about statistics, probability and sampling techniques to achieve the study of health statistics.

It introduces the concepts of person-years and incidence, explaining with the use of case-studies such as diabetes, lung-cancer and cholesterol levels, naming patterns that have come out of the European Prospective Investigation into Cancer [EPIC]. Whilst this is interesting and will hold more relevance for some than others, I was expecting something slightly more intriguing and fast paced - like the procedural techniques used in the film Contagion.

This is definitely not something to critique the book over, it was purely my expectation vs. the reality that let this book down for me. If you have a background in mathematics, specifically statistics and sampling, then you have already read 2/3rds of this 126 page A6 book. The rest concerns a largely ethical debate about trials, testing and control. Intriguing, but a lot drier than it could have been.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2010
I was recommended this book by one of my tutors. It gives a clear outline for research methodology useful for research projects in medical school and easy to read. Would defintely recommend.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2012
Epidemiology is the study of factors affecting the health and illness of populations. However, the purpose of the epidemiology is not just the passive study of those illnesses from a purely intellectual viewpoint, but rather coming up with strategies and means of preventing and controlling the disease outbreaks. Furthermore, it is not necessary for those diseases to be microbial in nature. Cancer, heart disease, and even things like obesity fall under the purview of epidemiology.

This very short introduction deals with all major aspects of epidemiology. Its modern approach is up to date and the book does not fail to mention some of the recent headline-grabbing viral epidemics, like SARS and H1N1 ("swine flu"). The book pays detailed attention to the methodology of good epidemiological research, and tries to explain it in an accessible and readable way. There are numerous interesting and detailed graphs and charts throughout the book, but the book does not assume a high level of technical knowledge. It can be used as an introductory text to the vast epidemiological literature, or as a concise refresher of some key concepts. It can also serve as a useful reference book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2016
Epidemiology: A very short introduction

Positive:
- Beautifully written: Covers plenty of knowledge in a comfortable to read style.
- A great insight to all the major factors and the research methodology used in Epidemiology.
- Perfect for students or people with an interest in Epidemiology: The text will deepen your interest or passion for the subject.

Improvements:
- For an individual entirely new to the subject or has not studied chemistry or biology, it may be hard to follow some parts without reading a few times.

I would recommend this short book to anybody, especially medicine students, who would like to broaden their knowledge. The book is a pleasure to read.

If you found my review beneficial, please mark it as helpful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
This was a very good book . i needed a very simple overview and introduction and this gave it to me and enabled me to get to grips with epidemiology at the start - I can highly recommend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
Very informative book, it gives a very clear introduction about Epidemiology ! It was very useful for my research. :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2015
A very interesting book - I would definitely recommend it, although delivery was very slow!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2015
As described. Great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
Not as speedy delivery as i'd have liked but was good quality when it came.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)