Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 September 2001
First a confession: 'The Last of the Mohicans' had been on my bookshelf for four years and I'd never got past the third chapter. But with a five week break between jobs, I knew that if I didn't read it now, I never would. The first half of the book is slow, and Cooper's language is not easy on the modern eye. As other reviewers have pointed out, the plot does seem in places tenuous and the narrative over descriptive, but the book's strength is the brilliant characterisation. Despite the setting, as the story develops, the reader can identify strongly with the hopes and fears of the main characters. My fear on first opening this book that it would be irrelevant to my life proved wrong.
This book may be hard-going, but it's worth reading. You need to take some time over it and persevere with the first half, but when you finish the book you'll feel it was worth it.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2011
I enjoyed the book once I had got to grips with the dialogue which is after all from 1821.

Admittedly a little slow in places and certainly I had to read back over some paragraphs to ensure that I understood because of the flowery language, but with images coloured by modern film adaptations I thought the book possessed of charm and I did recognise the basics of the plot.

synonymous with the phrase "Last of the Mohicans" in modern day, Hawkeye does not actually occupy centre-stage but is more a general player and the skirmishes in the latter part of the tale are quite good and the ceremonies emotively described.

Throw away your preconceptions and read it for what it is, an enjoyable tale of a savage time thankfully long-gone but eloquently described.

I am glad I gave it my attention.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2008
This is the second book in the Leatherstocking Tales which spans an entire life of a single man: Natty Bumpo otherwise known as Deerslayer in the first book, Hawkeye in this one, Pathfinder in the third book and Leatherstocking in the ones to follow, or just Natty. The Deerslayer concentrated on the early years, his early twenties whereas in this book he has become an experienced scout, hunter and is known throughout the colonies as Hawkeye for his exceptional shooting ability with the rifle known as Killdeer, first obtained in the Deerslayer. Natty is now about 35 years old. Suffice it to say, he is now a man of renown. It starts when he is engaged in rescuing the daughters of Colonel Munro from the revengeful Magua who was whipped by Colonel Munro and swore vengence on the children of Munro. It also covers the time of Braddock's defeat after the loss of Fort William Henry. It discusses, in earnest, the decline of the Native American population in the East. It does this through the tale of Uncas the son of Natty's friend Chingachgok. Uncas becomes a kind of symbol of this decline, a brave warrior with great vigour, constitution and heart the story shows that the sun is beginning to set on the native peoples even though they are yet strong and vigorous.

By far the best of the tales I have so far read, having read the first three. It is more dynamic than the other tales and the story moves forward quickly. It is again written in that old style of the 1800's which has its own character and is not unpleasant to read. I enjoyed this book a great deal.

N.B. The Last of the Mohicans is very different from the film of the same name starring Daniel Day Lewis. In fact I would say the story of the original bears very little resemblance to the film.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 1998
The definitive tale of the American frontier in 1757, Cooper's masterwork captures the essence of this corner of American history. A vivid tale of honour, courage and love set against the backdrop of the French-British war, this book will be read and re-read for as long as people still print books
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2010
One of the all time great books that I enjoyed reading as a boy and was soon lost in the pages again when I started reading it.A classic rip-roaring adventure ,well worth the reading
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2011
A REVIEW OF `THE LAST OF THE MOHICANS' BY J. FENNIMORE COOPER

During an earlier chapter of `The Last of The Mohicans' (1826), sharp-shooting, white-skinned scout, Hawkeye is trailing the heroes and heroines of the story, all of whom have been captured by the malevolent Huron tribe. Finding and following their trail through the forest is a meticulous, painstaking task that requires no stone to be left unturned and no snapped twig to be ignored. In many ways, this process reflects the novel as a whole. This is a `classic' which takes its time.

Those interested in a summary of the plot of `The Last of The Mohicans' will find such information easy to come by via a range of websites and scholarly studies. Suffice to say here that the action takes place in the mid-1700s - in what is now New York - at a time when the French and British were fighting for control over `The New World'. The book is of definite historical interest as Cooper recreates many of the key events of the struggle with real attention to detail, notably the fall of Fort William Henry and the massacre which followed. In its conclusion, `The Last of The Mohicans' also offers a poignant reflection upon this era in history in which the imperialistic ambitions of white Europeans dictated the fate of the Native American population.

However, to appreciate the incident and messages on offer requires real patience. Indeed, when considered amongst the broad range of `classic' novels, `The Last of The Mohicans' will be appreciated by those who revelled in the unabridged `Lorna Doone'. If, like me, you prefer the more immediate action-adventure of such tales as `Journey To The Centre Of The Earth', `King Solomon's Mines' or `The Prisoner of Zenda', `The Last of The Mohicans' might be best placed towards the bottom of you reading `to do' list.

Barty's Score: 6.5/10
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 1998
The Last of the Mohicans is a classic in any form, but with Wyeth's illustrations, Cooper's story becomes a vivid tale of adventure, peril, and nobility long gone. I thoroughly enjoyed this book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 1999
This is a masterpiece that not only narrates action but explores minds and motives. If you have never read and enjoyed Dickens and Melville; don't bother with this one; it requires a reader with a brain. I was shocked by the first reviews here, and thought: "Are these readers so egotistical as to think that people prior to the baby boom and going back 200 years didn't really talk like that, reason fluently in a crisis, or have deep thoughts about the meaning of life?" People facing death do actually THINK (a lot) during the calm moments. This book is not always politically correct, but it is honest to a fault. It is not designed to be a romance novel; rather a novel in which romance (not sex) occurs. I HATED the movie because it tried to do a lot of anti-war, anti-imperialist moralizing.(Hollywood has no sense of history.) Did you ever read a story and think:"This story is not believable. Like--when did these characters ever go to the toilet?" This story is not like that. Yes it does slow down sometimes but so does life!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
I knew the story as a child, yet never read it then. I very probably appreciated it more as an adult than l would have as a child. Needless to say it's a wonderful tale that transports the reader to a time now forgotten, the language used can be difficult to interpret at times yet it adds to understanding that lost way of life. A very worthwhile read for any fan of the classics.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2008
For a book that was written in 1826 it still say alot for the world today. If people read the book in expecting it to be anything like the film with Daniel Day Lewis they would be mistaken. The book starts with the Mohicans and their white brother (Chingahook, Uncas and Hawk eye aka Natty Bumppo) who help protect the daughters of General Munro (Cora and Alice) against the savage trickery and cruelty of Magua, a Huron. The book follows their journeys together climaxing with a final confrontation, which ends the lives of some beloved characters.
To read this you will need to vaguely comprehend (or have a dictionary to hand) French, but this doesn't occur much. The book is beautifully written, but does take a while to get used to, but it is well worth the effort.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse