Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 June 2015
The Arden editions of Shakespeare are definitely my favourites - they're beautifully produced and the introductions and notes are invaluable. Sometimes there is not a great deal of text on a page which can make them a little unwieldy if rehearsing with them, but I still find the Arden preferable to any other edition. This is also a companion volume to the First Quarto and First Folio edition which I believe is now out of print. I have both volumes and together they give you a definitive view of Shakespeare's play, in all its incarnations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
This is a very enjoyable and powerful book in which you are lost in the world that Shakespeare has carefully crafted, you will enjoy every second of it. Shakespeare creates a powerful drama of a marriage that begins with fascination , with elopement, and with intense mutual devotion and that ends precipitately with jealous rage and violent deaths. This is a book that you will never forget!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2017
Arrived really swiftly which was just as well since my students had exam within a few days. Totally recommend this version of Durband's translation of Shakespearean English into easy accessible English.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2016
Seriously if you are studying Hamlet for A-Levels this book helps you understand Shakespeare a lot. A play like Hamlet can be a daunting read but the Arden shakespeares useful definitions and analytical gobbets make it perfect for studying at a higher level. It removes the barrier from a 21st century student and Shakespeares highly sophisticated wonderful superflous language. Love love love. Can get a bit tricky to follow the definitons however.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
It's obviously a fantastic read with all the necessary requirements. But it's also a hefty book, and the pages are quite flimsy and tend to fall out of the book while trying to read it... I've not exactly been rough with it but if you get about halfway in it begins to fall apart and I've had to try and impress the pages back in.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2016
To be or not .... erm, (?) ... Prompt ! This is the big one dudes. Plays should be seen and heard, preferably being performed on a stage. Every man and every woman will play Hamlet at some point in their lives, however brief the life. Great play, still puzzles the will.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
There are at least three versions of 'Hamlet'. The best is Q2 and this is the one Arden have chosen in the first volume of their two-volume 'Hamlet' edition.

This is the best Arden edition I have come across in recent years - clear, incisive and beautifully set out. If you are studying this play or just want to read the text in full, then this is the edition for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
Great. Working through it with my grandaughter. Very challenging!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2009
York Notes for "Hamlet" are an invaluable guide to the insight of the play, the period in history and the character backgrounds. If, for example the study or essay is comparing film adpatations, Olivier's 1948 black and white film version, the BBC studio production with Derek Jacobi, and the film with Mel Gibson, these notes will provide the interpretation of the text,the psychological profile and the unwritten codes and symbols that are incorporated by the directors in the productions, and why some were ommitted prior to public screenings. Why is it easier to re-create a ghost in "Macbeth" than in "Hamlet"? is revealed in York Notes
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2017
Good way for teens to understand Shakespeare's best
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)