Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
172
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 July 2015
This is a very old, original translation, which made no sense whatsoever. I'm sure there must be a more modern translation available somewhere which would make it readable. But this is definitely not something to consider.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2016
Terrible Kindle version, the indexing is all over the place. better versions out there
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2016
couldn't get into it, need to read a copy with more commentary to understand references. my fault not Dante's!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2016
Hard going but good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2015
Excellent translation and notes. Printing layout is excellent for readability.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
a work of genius from the man who invented hell
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
Rubbish crashred my kindle
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2012
The book is in a weird order - Dante's journey is from Hell, through Purgatory, to Paradise. The Kindle edition mixes the books up, places cantos out of order and has hyperlinks that don't go where they say they're going. It's impossible to read this in the order that Dante wrote it without a truely ridiculous amount of work.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2012
I would not bother with this version. Whether or not this is complete is almost impossible to say, since I have not yet managed to find the beginning of the book. The pages seem to be in the wrong order, the links and contents don't take you where you want to go. This is simply terrible!
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2012
Okay, I appreciate this is free, but I remain confused. Where or how can you access the illustrations?

It clearly states this is illustrated and even credits Gustav Dore in the Index, along with mention of clicking on images to enlarge them, but I cannot for the life of me see or find any images and I've tried to go through the text page by page in case I've missed something. Help?

In light of the above, I can't recommend this at all. Awful. And the proliferation of links to every Canto and every part and sub-part --no doubt included to make things easier to navigate-- ultimately makes this look like a disorganized, hurried mess, and nigh on impossible to feel at ease with.

Not impressed. Amazon doesn't allow a zero star rating, unfortunately, but you get the gist.
11 Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse