Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 23 November 2010
I purchased this dictionary as it is a set book for the Open University Beginners Italian L195. Sadly, it is woefully inadequate. Even tacking the course's first TMA assignment, there were several words that the dictionary did not contain. As for those it did contain, the definitions were so basic as to be meaningless: to give one example, it translates the word 'ragazza' simply as girl, but when a man says he lives with his 'ragazza', it's possible that he might mean he lives with his daughter or with his girlfriend... nothing in this dictionary to suggest this secondary meaning. Spend an extra quid, or indeed spend less, and get a more comprehensive dictionary: beginners will only encounter unnecessary difficulties with such simplistic definitions, and they will struggle to improve with a dictionary so inadequate
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2009
Excellent first dictionary. I can also recommend its Grandfather which is rather too heavy to carry about. The beginners' dictionary can be used to travel with as well as at home, containing useful phrases for all sorts of situations, as well as helpful travel tips. It is clear and concise in its definitions, so is quick for referencing. My only (very minor) quibble is that for someone of my somewhat advanced years the type can be rather small.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2009
If you need a dictionary it is better to buy a regular one. This has limited use when used in conjuction with other learning.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2010
This really is a very very basic dictionary. I think that even a beginner would find this dictionary too simple, there just are not enough words, even the every day vocabulary needed to order a meal or get directions is lacking. This is a set book for the Open University L195 Andante Italian beginners course. I suggest get something else, even the Collins Pocket Italian dictionary is better than this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2010
Several people in my beginners Italian class had this dictionary and I was struck by how well the pages are set out and how easy it was to use. I had the 'Oxford colour Italian dictionary plus' and it's a 'stubby' book and not easy to handle - eventually the back broke and only then could I keep the page open. It didn't have all the helpful information that the beginners one does but it's mainly for it's clarity that I would recomment this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2011
Well,

I started Italian classes, and theoretically, if you begginer, what sort of dictionary will youy get ?- certainly it is going to be for the begginers- and i did so, but...
On the first class there wasnt already a few words in it. I like the colorfull pages, but i would suggest to get pocket dictionary, which i eventuaslly bought it. This one unforunately is black and white. Both of the have got some practical gramma usage at the bag, and pocket one some useful part in the middle for the tourist. Currently i am using more pocket dic, why?- i am sure that despite the fact i am begginer i will find tge word in it, and in the future when i believe i will improve, i will definetely will not find apart from gramma in begginers version, so cant see any point of buying it.
consider twice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2009
This is a great dictionary. It doesn't have every word, but then again it is a beginners dictionary. It has useful sections besides the actual dictionary: verb tables and a phrase section at the back. Would definitely recommend.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
Like a previous reviewer I bought this on an Open University course recommendation. With hindsight it seems a very poor, even bizarre, choice on their part.
It is far too simplistic for any, even basic, academic study beyond perhaps GCSE. There are other dictionaries available which help the learner without creating linguistic mayhem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2009
I am out to my Italian student dinner and will not be parted from this superb little dictionary.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2012
Dictionaries are fairly basic items. This one does exactly what one would expect of a good 'between languages' dictionary. There is a good choice of words, and many good practical examples of phrases in which they are used. I am very pleased with the dictionary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)