Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
19
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 January 2003
For the topics the book covers - it certainly does well! It is easy to follow and understand. The diagrams are clear and helpful - espcially in the opiates chapter. It is generally a useful resource in furthering your understanding of this subject!
However, if I should have one critisism - it certainly doesn't and wouldn't be able to cover everything.. Noticeably it lacks information on certain receptor groups. It also doesn't cover in depth possible chemistry mechanisms, which I believe enhances understanding.
Overall though this is a useful book!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2012
It's so nice to read a textbook written in such down-to-earth english. One of the few textbooks I will gladly just pick up and read. The subject is presented in an easy to understand manner, with potentially difficult topics being made easily understandable. For those tired of the traditional boring textbooks that aim to just give the information without a care in the world for making it easily accessible, this is the book for you! On parr with Clayden, Greeves, Warren and Wothers Organic Chemistry for its easy reading style (if you're familliar with it).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2005
This book is generally ok - topics are sufficiently well explained with some good examples. Probably quite good value for money and you probably wouldn't be disappointed with it. For a little more money though you can get a real classic in this field - "The Organic Chemsitry of Drug Design and Drug Action" by Silverman which contains a wealth of information about drug interaction and is so readable and very clear to understand. If you want to just get buy on a budget then buy this - if you really want to know your stuff for a little extra then go for Silverman's book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2009
Gives a very good overview of medicinal chemistry/drug discovery, but there are structural errors in the book (one, sildenafil, is repeatedly printed incorrectly). Go for a newer version in the hope that these have been corrected.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
I bought this book because I didn't want a book that was mainly concerned about receptors and other drug targets. This books has a wide perspective over different subjects, including drug design, computers in design, pharmacodynamics and pharmacokinetics and several important classes of drugs. Eventually, you would like to know more but then, the book is supposed to be "Introduction" so I don't know if that is really something to give minus points. The text is typical for a science course book, and there could be little more color used.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
This book is really nicely set up and has lots of pictures which helps me understand the content. I would definately recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2006
A very good introduction into a field of interest to many different disciplines. Its appeal to such a variety of scientific backgrounds means that it lacks specific detail to some. Its ability to spark the imagination and unifty concepts is powerful. The third edition (2005) offers a breif but essential summery of relevant key concepts within my own background, theoretical and computational chemistry, despite some matieral quickly being outdated. The rest of the book offered an intriguing insight into the minds of collegues within the drug development industry. Suitible to undergraduates, this text is an invaluble introduction to broad range of exciting fields.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2010
I am really glad i purchased this book. It is written in simple english, very easy to understand. It gets straight to the point unlike other medicinal chemistry books i have used. Good for exam revision, as an aid to lecture material, however, if your looking for an in depth, reference book, medicinal chemistry by foyer's is a far better option which tends to contain the material in this book written in a more long-winded way with much more in depth explanations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2003
It's a good textbook for a chemistry student who needs to know a little bit of every branches of his studies, but the level is not enough high if you want to understand the biochemical processes completely.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
A very well written and informative book with nice diagrams and pictures to help explain various topics. Perfect if you are studying pharmaceutical science or pharmacy at university ! Thanks alot !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£44.57
£70.62

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)