Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 July 2013
A MUST if you want to understand something about 1st World War and why it took place.
A great deal of research has been unertaken.
Concentration required to read it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
The layman's view on the First World War. Never too challenging, though it debunks a few myths and sensibly offers no new theories. A great way into the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
So many good things I never knew. None of the other books on the market tell the story of Turkish involvement and the Japanese island grabbing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2015
A very interesting and deep book, mainly in the chapters about origin and causes of war start, but we are waiting second part for years
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
good item arrived quickly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2012
The First World War:Volume I: To Arms: 1 (First World War (Kindle))

I have wanted to read this book for a very long time. I was ever so pleased that it was available on Kindle - the printed book, even in paperback, is extremely heavy.

But the number of typos made it almost impossible to read. At least 2 or 3 per screen - t;n, and they made a right mess of the letter `f'. It was as if the conversion refused to accept that `ff' CAN be part of a word; the word `first' invariably converted to `First' regardless of context; sometimes several words are squeezed together; and I know of no words in the English language that begin `!'.

Although some of these typos are merely annoying, the sheer quantity of them made be wonder if I could trust anything.

Reluctantly, I have just ordered the paperback.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2004
I don't know how many times I've started this book,there is a
huge wealth of information but at times it gets really bogged down..especially as regards troop movements etc..and there are
few and pretty pitiful maps which make it hard to follow..
great eye opener for what was going on behind the scenes but there were times I actually wished for a bit less detail!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2004
This book is very detailed and wide ranging, and helps to put the global nature of the war into perspective. However, it at times gets into too much detail and sometimes uses military terms without explaining them. Also so many people are mentioned that it is hard to remember who everyone is. The maps are very poor, there are not enough and what there are do not show the movements of troops or where the fronts were. I spent many frustrating minutes searching for a town on a map.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
The volume was very well-priced and arrived in perfect order. It had been read-that is usually a given-but was in excellent condition.
It was delivered swiftly and on time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)