Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 22 March 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2003
For the topics the book covers - it certainly does well! It is easy to follow and understand. The diagrams are clear and helpful - espcially in the opiates chapter. It is generally a useful resource in furthering your understanding of this subject!
However, if I should have one critisism - it certainly doesn't and wouldn't be able to cover everything.. Noticeably it lacks information on certain receptor groups. It also doesn't cover in depth possible chemistry mechanisms, which I believe enhances understanding.
Overall though this is a useful book!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2012
It's so nice to read a textbook written in such down-to-earth english. One of the few textbooks I will gladly just pick up and read. The subject is presented in an easy to understand manner, with potentially difficult topics being made easily understandable. For those tired of the traditional boring textbooks that aim to just give the information without a care in the world for making it easily accessible, this is the book for you! On parr with Clayden, Greeves, Warren and Wothers Organic Chemistry for its easy reading style (if you're familliar with it).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2009
Gives a very good overview of medicinal chemistry/drug discovery, but there are structural errors in the book (one, sildenafil, is repeatedly printed incorrectly). Go for a newer version in the hope that these have been corrected.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2005
This book is generally ok - topics are sufficiently well explained with some good examples. Probably quite good value for money and you probably wouldn't be disappointed with it. For a little more money though you can get a real classic in this field - "The Organic Chemsitry of Drug Design and Drug Action" by Silverman which contains a wealth of information about drug interaction and is so readable and very clear to understand. If you want to just get buy on a budget then buy this - if you really want to know your stuff for a little extra then go for Silverman's book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
I bought this book because I didn't want a book that was mainly concerned about receptors and other drug targets. This books has a wide perspective over different subjects, including drug design, computers in design, pharmacodynamics and pharmacokinetics and several important classes of drugs. Eventually, you would like to know more but then, the book is supposed to be "Introduction" so I don't know if that is really something to give minus points. The text is typical for a science course book, and there could be little more color used.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
This book is really nicely set up and has lots of pictures which helps me understand the content. I would definately recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2010
I am really glad i purchased this book. It is written in simple english, very easy to understand. It gets straight to the point unlike other medicinal chemistry books i have used. Good for exam revision, as an aid to lecture material, however, if your looking for an in depth, reference book, medicinal chemistry by foyer's is a far better option which tends to contain the material in this book written in a more long-winded way with much more in depth explanations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
very good for pharmacy students. used it to understand lectures and prepare for exams, neat simple yet detailed. good book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2017
Excellent book! Makes the chemistry easy to understand. This is very good for a pharmacy student and will help with all chemistry covered! This was a recommended purchase as part of my module and had helped me immensely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Rang & Dale's Pharmacology, 8e
£44.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)