Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
8
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Vinyl Bound|Change
Price:£27.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 11 September 2013
The Oxford Handbook Series are generally for doctors in post-graduate specialities but are useful for junior doctors and the interested medical student for quick reference or revision. This a tremendous and comprehensive aid. As a Consultant haematologist of over 25 years, this is a concise useful aid for quick referral with further reading suggestions. This is beyond medical student requirements as a purchase but can be dipped into for specific topics. I have it available for juniors working in haematology albeit for short periods. Having taught students and junior doctors who are now eminent in haematology (not entirely due to me),this should be directed to the relevant medical personnel. It is not for the casual reader. It covers haematological malignancies (leukaemia etc), coagulation disorders, blood transfusion apart from the bread and butter deficiencies and the more esoteric. Excellent handbook.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2010
This book is essential for anyone studying Haematology. It doesn't provide understanding or great explanation but is an amazing revision tool. It provides you with all the essential points and facts in a comprehensive manner that will outdo most revision flash cards.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2010
BRILLIANT HANDBOOK WITH GREAT IMPROVEMENTS OVER THE YEARS.INVALUABLE FOR HAEMATOLOGY CLINIC AS WELL AS SPECIALISED HAEMATOLOGY CLINICS (MYELOMA,LYMPHOMA,HAEMOSTASIS..CLINICS)
I FOUND IT USEFUL FOR TRAINEES,SPECIALISTS IN HAEMATOLOGY AS WELL AS TO A MEDICAL STUDENT WHO LIKE TO EXPLORE THE FIELD OF HAEMATOLOGY.
IT IS USEFUL ALSO FOR QUICK ANSWERS IN THE WARDS OF HAEMATOLOGY & STEM CELL TRANSPLANT UNITS.
I BOUGHT THE VENYL COVER EDITION & HAD A FREE SOFT COVER EDITION SENT TO ME FROM A DRUG REP. WHICH I FOUND IT LIGHTER TO CARRY & MORE CONVENIENT.
3RD EDITION CARRIES GOOD DEMONSTRATIONS & COLOURED PLATES OF BLOOD & BONE MARROW FILMS BUT I THINK IT NEEDS TO CHANGE ALL THE BLACK & WHITE FILMS TO COULOURD.ALSO NEEDS TO DO COLOURED INDEX & KEY FACT BOXES AS IN THE 8TH. EDITION OF OXFORD HANDBOOK OF MEDICINE.
FINALLY IT IS A VALUE FOR MONEY & INTENT.
DR.M.S.HAMEED
DEPT. OF HAEMATOLOGY,
UNIVERSITY HOSPITAL OF NORTH STAFFORDSHIRE,
ENGLAND
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2009
After being on the BMT ward for 6 weeks, I finally bought this nice handbook. I found it really helpful and correlates with what we really do very well. Really updated!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2010
As a hematologist, I must be on call now and again. Hematology has grown as a speciality and one cannot cope with the many varied clinical situations. However, this book covers most part of the hematology topics, both malign and benign, sometimes with too much information.
This book is a very good reference for the resident, the consultant and even the medicine student alike. I'd like some more concrete topics on some subjects (i.e. exact doses of medication or practical management in some cases,) but I must concede that is not always possible, because a book cannot cope with all the clinical situations in real life.
A well spent money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2010
This is the one of the best handbook in clinical haematology.
It is updated and easy to use handbook.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2015
Brilliant book very handy for reference for my job
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2015
good book, well laid ou
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)