Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
7
Geopolitics: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 March 2014
I am none the wiser for reading this book than I would be from reading the first ten lines of Wikipedia. What I got instead was a rambling political lecture on how much the author hates the Bush administration. Yes we know... It was crap! We all lived through it and don't need reminding of the bleeding obvious. However Dodds just can't let it go and keeps coming back to it over and over again. It is tedious. The book overall is poorly organised and has little clear direction to speak of. Very hard to feel like I've gained anything from this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2012
As with his other works, notably 'Global Geopolitics' and 'Geopolitics in a Changing World', Professor Dodds writes eloquently on the major geopolitical issues and theories that define the contemporary world. As befits a "Very Short Introduction", Dodds' writing is lean and accessible, yet also intellectually deep and considered. A must for undergraduates in this field, it cuts out the jargon that so often taints academic writing. Rather than offering detailed discussion of the world's major international issues and crises (see the works cited above for this), the book emphasises the imaginative and cultural dimensions of world politics. In doing so, it provides the reader not just with new information about the geopolitical make-up of our planet, but novel ways of understanding, perhaps even ameliorating, some of its many challenges.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2013
I liked it a lot. Briefly explaining the concepts of geopolitics. I didn't think it was biased, rather very keen on explaining it in many ways.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 July 2016
Good text
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2015
A really good, clear and concise outline of some of the issues in geopolitics. As might be expected, there's a whole world of content that could be added in to this, but then it would cease to be very short!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2013
I study geography at univeristy and just started a module on geopolitics, this book was a perfect place to begin and only cheap too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 March 2013
I found this to be an interesting book on a subject which in a sense states the bleeding obvious - that geography affects politics - so it was nice to see some flesh put on the idea, and the book certainly came over to me as balanced.

The author, however is of course, an academic, and although he is nowhere near as bad as some of the other academics in this series of books, occasionally one can see the political correctness shining gratuitously through. Why for example on Page 94 are we told (after a discussion of the glorious aftermath of the Falklands War), that not only was not all well with Britain but that it was riven by Racism. Leaving aside the question of whether Racism, that is to say a preferrence for people like oneself is a bad thing or even anything other than inevitable, if, as we are told 99% of the population was then native British how on earth could those same people - that is to say almost the entire country - be suffering from racism? One never saw foreigners so one never thought about them. How is that racist, save of course to the self-loathing liberals keen to denigrate their own people. My own recollections of the 80s was that it was 'the best of times' though unemployment was and remains a major curse. If I have to find fault (personally), agism against males in the labour market was rife, Pederasty was prosecuted with gusto by the now Gay-promoting Police, and Divorce Law was and remains Misandrist, yet somehow the author fails to mention those facts (in favour of as I say the fanciful attack on white people in which he indulges). This is rather priceless from someone whose first name is clearly not a common English Christian name. The fact that he is British rather gives the lie to his criticism of (I assume) his mother's (?) adopted country. As it happens Britain is surely in the last phases of extreme ethno-masochism. The passages in the book embarrased at the fact that the Third Reich indulged in Geo-politics - apparently, perhaps shows how academia is riven by fashion. Outside of Maths and Logic far too much in Academia is opinion - pity the gullible students.

On page 101 the author asserts 'Britain ha[s] always been shaped by waves of Immigrants'. That is historically nonsense - 50k of Huguenots, and a similar number of French in 1789 - that's it, before 1900 is not 'waves of immigrants' throughout our history. He may, as he says, be happy to be served Coffee by Poles and Slovaks, (although is that not a form of nationalsuperiority where lesser peoples attend to the needs of the native) but of course it also means that the native Britain goes unemployed. That he surely would be less happy if waves of Slovaks and Poles were to be found taking over the academic tenures of Political Philosophy, such that he was to join the, largely male, two and a half million British job seekers, which is of course not by any means the full extent of the unemployed might well make him rethink his views - a real case of implied 'I'm all right Jack'; yet, shortly later Basques and Catalans are not being criticised for seeking to distance themselves from Castillian Spain, - no approval there for 'waves of immigrants'.

On Page 108 we learn that other religions than Christianity have shaped Europe. Which one, we are not told. It can't be Judaism - the same book. Surely not the fact that Islam was kicked off the Iberian peninsular 500 years ago. If not that, then what? My local railway station is designed with a nod to Islamic style, but to suggest were I to do so, that where I live is anything other 100% culturally Christian would strain the understanding of the word Christian.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)