Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 4 August 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is Dr Yueh's third book on the success story that is China and looks at the amazing economic growth that has resulted from Deng Xiaoping's pragmatic reforms, initiated only thirty years ago, from a microeconomic perspective. It is interesting to read how such concepts as guanxi, or the network of social relationships in Chinese society, have been an important driver in China's growth. The book has plentiful references and a full bibliography for further reading and is recommended as a way of understanding how China is positioning itself for when it may become the dominant economic power within the next decade. As the Chinese curse has it, we may all live in interesting times in the not too distant future!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a competent enough overview of the Chinese economic success story of the last three decades although with a couple of caveats.

First of all this is more of a detailed professional economist's take on the Chinese economy than a simpler, 'everyman' account. It therefore treads into text book territory more often than not. Also although it does investigate many of the differences and unique features in the Chinese business and social system, I couldn't get over the impression that the author saw these more as idiosyncrasies that need to be ironed out so that a full-on western capitalist model can be applied, as the Chinese masses [supposedly] so rightly deserve.

In that way this is very much I felt a neo-liberal take on the phenomenon of China- which is essentially a socialist market economy - and where from a western capitalist perspective, it should be heading- i.e. toward liberal global capitalism- which is pretty much summed up in the last chapter.

This makes the book to my mind strangely out of time; China has achieved high levels of growth through a planned economy that has embraced regulated markets but within a socialist context- not as is wrongly perceived much of the time in the West, through becoming capitalistic. Although it would be churlish to say Yueh doesn't adequately address this reality, the book still comes across as wedded to the ideal of liberal global capitalism, which as we all know, is failing now as a coherent economic system. Lots of good hard data here for the Economics student though...
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The astonishing thing to me about China's growth to become the world's second-largest economic superpower, isn't about the speed at which this has gained momentum over the last 30-or-so years, but why it took so long to occur in the first place!

This is given the fact that it has a population of over 1.2 billion - or comfortably over three times that of the USA.

Macro-economics can be a fascinating, often difficult subject and Linda Yuen copes well with all the data at her disposal to examine the reasons behind its huge growth 'spurt' (if a decades-long process can be described as such!), and the reforms it needs to carry out to make sure it continues onwards and upwards. Clearly written by an academic, it is nevertheless lucid and not too difficult a read.

However, how desireable is the economic growth of China to the rest of the world (and it IS very important for the global economy) in an age when it will allow more and more Chinese to be compete for the acquisition of precious, dwindling resources in a finite world?

Read this fascinating, only occasionally dry, account to make an informed decision on this and other important, related issues.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 September 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I had for some reason assumed that a book by the BBC's Business correspondent would be an accessible read. However, I had missed that Linda Yueh is also an economics fellow at Oxford. A few pages in and you would know it. After struggling with some of the economic data and analysis I confess that I ultimately skim read for the headlines. There was little of the human dimension to, well, humanise what is essentially an in-depth economic analysis rather than a three dimensional commentary. This is despite the fact that much of the commentary considers the micro economic dynamics.

My knowledge of economics was just about sufficient to follow some of the thread but to me it was just too dry and I wonder that even a rigidly economic treatise might not benefit from more case study and something to lighten the pages. I am not sure whether it is that I am just not up to this book but I have encountered many very high brow economists who can convey complex material in a scintillating manner. I must presume that this tome is for the already enlightened or those who do not need the wider picture to give meaning to the figures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 December 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Having studied Chinese for my degree I thought this would be a good read to give me some background on how China succeeded rising to power so quickly. I did find this book interesting to read although at times it was a bit dry with all the data it provided but still gave a fairly decent overview of how China managed its success... Politics and personal bias aside I felt it could have given more attention to how the Chinese rose to their power house status using their peculiar blend of socialism and capitalism rather than attempt to shoe horn it in to fit western ideals and models...

over all though a good read if a little hard to follow for those without a fairly good grounding in economic analysis...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Since 1979 China has had a groth rate of 9.6% and has doubled its GDP every 7 to 8 years and lifted 660m people out of dire poverty (1/10th of the working population) and this in spite of having no judiciary or normal institutions. Recently growth seems to be waning and its sustainability questioned. Y. China's Groth Centre at Oxford and is thus well qualified to dicuss these matters which she does starting on the microeconomis level and using current economic models. But the general reader should be warned that the book ia aimed at
professionals,who have greeted it with acclaim.
Rating 5 ex 5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I learned quite a lot from this. Didn't always agree with it though.
It is quite an academic book and it wasn't exactly a pleasurable read. The author generally backs up her opinions and provides references etc. So even when you disagree you know where the author is coming from and can even examine the primary sources yourself if you want to.
There are lots of books that purport to explain the rise of Chine but this is one of the better ones. It is certainly one of the more sober and modest ones and it actually provided evidence for the authors opinions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 August 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book has a very academic approach and I found it difficult to read from cover to cover. However, as a reference book I found it interesting and managed to pull some useful info from it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
Fast shipping and a great book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 August 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Linda Yueh's China's Growth: The Making of an Economic Superpower explains China's unique transition of its developing economy. It shows that the structure of the economy is just as important as growth factors. It also looks as questions such as:-

What made it possible for China - one of the poorest developing economies under communist rule, to have been transformed into the world's second-largest economy in just 30 years?

How can we account for this miraculous making of an economic superpower?

China's Growth: The Making of an Economic Superpower helps us to understand how this happened and what the contributors were. The detail provided in this book helps to resolve this puzzle.

An extremely detailed and informative book and a good one to have on every Professional's book-shelf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)