Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 12 September 2000
This book really is a gem. Taking the reader through the key issues of contemporary political and ethical theory, Kymlicka manages to admirably disentangle the thorny writing style of Rawls to lay down for the beginner the essential elements of "A Theory of Justice." Taking this as his foundation, he builds from the Rawlsian preamble the critiques made of Rawls by Nozick, Walzer and other schools of political thought.
This approach works very well. However, there a few factual errors - especially in the discussion of Rawls - which necessitate the reader looking back to the original texts. Which is no bad thing, considering a reader really ought to consider this book only an appetiser for the heavy yet enjoyable fodder that Rawls and Nozick offer.
Recommended for all those with an interest in the subject and for students in the first couple of years of undergraduate study.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2016
This is a long, and at times long-winded, book on pretty much all political theories you might want to ever hear about. I recommend reading the introduction, and then selectively pick chapters by your interests.
The book suffers slightly from trying too much: Both being an introduction, and being enlightening. It's not bad in either regard, but it is hard to get through, and I felt it talked down to me when it came to subjects I understand well, and at times I felt lost when it came to subjects I did not know a lot about beforehand.
However, it's comprehensive and detailed, with little author bias. Well worth a read if you want to get acquainted with a broad spectrum of political thought.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2012
Kymlicka provides a clear and concise overview of central themes in contemporary political philosophy. This book is excellent for those approaching the subject for the first time (e.g. at the undergraduate level), or those interested in returning back to the basics to remind oneself of the origins of the debates in the first place. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
A very clearly written text which does what it says on the Can, it gives a very good account of issues relating to Political Philosophy.

Trevor Dunn (Cambridge)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2016
Great condition, great purchase!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2014
Fast delivery and as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
brilliant read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
Having been so unfortunate to get this book in my reading material. I would like to say how unnecessarily pretentious the authors use of vocabulary is. Reading this book insulted me and made me feel stupid. Instead of using clear and concise plain English, the author makes the presupposition that the reader understands all the relevant terminology and engages in over indulgent elitist academic waffle. At one point it took me 2 hours to read 12 pages, why would any academic who's main purpose is surely disseminating there knowledge to purposefully make there work so difficult to be understood. There was no feeling of reward or accomplishment when I finally completed the first chapter just anger, because an academic more sympathetic to undergraduates would not make cruel assumptions that the points raised would instantly be understood. I may be aware that my own grasp of the English language could use improvement and any pedants out there will probably comment on any grammatical errors in this review, but surely there should be limits.
33 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2016
haven't used it all that much i cant really review it but my friend kept taking my copy to use and she got a 2:1 make of that what you will.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2006
This book is well worth getting hold of since it contains a worthy selection of essays introducing you to the subject. As a downside it tends to focus too much on particular 'popular' areas, however as with most academic areas you cannot expect conclusive coverage in one book! A worth addition to a students library.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)