Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2017
Yes thank you. ☺
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
This book is very useful... I have in d1g1tal format. See my c0ntcact in my pr0file.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2010
I found that this handbook was very well laid out, with the various clinical deseases and more importantly (for me) how to identify the organisms. This gives a concise overview of the important aspects of the different infections and would be very useful if studying Microbiology for Biomedical Science either at degree level, specialist portfolio or general CPD.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2009
This is a handy compact summary of infectious diseases. It is well laid out and each subject generally gets a 2 page spread which means its easily digestible, with a consistent format.

As a general physicians i've found it very helpful given the frequent presentation of infectious disease to the acute medical take and complications arising in hospital patients.

I imagine registrars in ID would require more detailed texts but the beginner or SHO would certainly benefit.

The other main limitation is the lack of pictures, especially when dealing with skin infections. But then pictures would probably take up too much room in a book like this and i suppose that why they left them out.

Its also worth noting that this is a first edition and i imagine it will be even better with future editions.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2010
I found this book very useful for quick reference when studying medical micro, infection control and various other microbiology related modules on my Biomedical science degree.
Would highly recommend this text to anybody studying the same.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2012
Overall this book is good value. As stated by previous reviewers it is digestible, portable and comprehensive considering its size. It is mostly a summary of Mandell (pick any bug; read the relevant chapters from each book and you will notice a remarkable similarity!) which has to be a good thing. The format allows you to search and read either by bug or by disease and contains some useful infection prevention tips.
It provides light relief from heavier texts for Microbiology and ID trainees and yet it probably contains enough information even for most of the FRCPath Part 2. HOWEVER if you are doing specialty exams beware there are a few significant errors (for instance suggests that some streptococci are catalase positive) so it make sure you use it in conjunction with a larger textbook/experienced colleague and double check any dubious facts.
I don't think such errors would affect the generalist using it as a reference text.
I look forward to the next (corrected) edition.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2010
In the true fashion of the Oxford Handbook series, this book gives a concise synopsis of a rather complex topic using simple, understandable terms.

This book is an excellent, detailed, but at the same time, a quick guide. It is definitely a recommendeded one for Foundation Doctors, registrars in any specialty and consultants in a range of specialities such as Communicable Disease Control, Public Health, General Medicine, Paediatrics, Surgery, etc. It is also highly recommended for other healthcare professionals, such as infection control nurses and Directors of Infection Prevention and Control, who have an interest in 'bugs'.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2016
Great quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2009
This book is very useful for references on Microbiology for infectious diseases good to read
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
Needed this book for work easy to have information to hand excellent book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)