Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
17
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 December 2001
Trevor Herbert, revered authority on historic brass, and Professor of Music at the Open University in Wales, has delivered to those with a serious interest in music, a long-overdue text that is highly user-friendly and approachable.
In two parts, the first part is a "how to" section coupled with a quick-reference compendium of meaningful and topical information. Included is a detailed section of useful websites together with an introduction to the strategic use of the internet.
The book - commissioned I suspect by Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music as recommended reading with diplomate candidates in mind - has a very straightforward approach making it both a vauluable and much-needed support and reference tool for musicians at all levels. Students, performers or experienced writers will all find the content applicable as it covers the issues encountered through writing tasks such as programme notes to dissertations.
Superior in content and approach to many others in my collection.
0Comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
Not at all what I was especting. Not about how to translate musical impressions into a verbal text, much more a guide to editing a book, ow to make citations etc. For me it was pretty useless, and I think the title is misleading. Don't buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
This book has been fundamental in my music degree for teaching me how to do things like reference and write bibliographies, I highly recommend it! It is quite instructional, so I wouldn't recommend it for a casual reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2015
Very useful and accessible book. Gives practical tips on style of writing from programme notes to how to research. Some sections are very dated and quite funny on use of the World Wide Web but generally, good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2009
This book is a must for students, teachers and lecturers, academics and anybody who needs to write about music. Thorough, comprehensive and very clearly written. Wish I'd had it years ago. Buy it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
This is an excelent volume for any musician. Well written and clear it examines all aspects of 'music in words'. It covers a wide range of topics, for example, writing programme notes, concert reviews, text for a CD inlay, abbreviations used in scores. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
Very clear practical advice. A book that I'll use a lot in the coming months as I write essays for a degree course and one which will probably be useful for many years to come.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
This is the most valuable book about music that I have read. It's a really, really straightforward and easy to read book. It tells you very simply, how to start writing on an academical level, but it goes further.

The citation guide is excellent, even better than standard ones universities will give you. It gives you pretty much any source type and how it is referenced, that alone would make this book useful for anyone else writing in similar field like film, literature or art history.

There is a good guide to research and some advice on musical terms and proper grammar.

I can't think of anything that could be added to this book that would make it more useful. One negative I found was in the printing, it was done oddly and some pages can be stiffer than others, but that's a minor complaint.

It's an amazingly practical and surprisingly enjoyable book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2010
A good investment for anyone writing assignments etc. All you need to know to put your music into words!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
Good book but I didn't realise that this wasn't the latest edition - so will probably be buying a copy of that as well!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse