Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 March 2017
Hopeful and realistic journey told well and with good advice to take along the way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
Interesting personal story giving insight into how a mind works and generates fear in a stressful situation. If unchecked, the imagination can get out of hand and lead to paranoia and chronic insomnia which in turn eventually leads to total breakdown.
This is only one part of the book. The rest is a rehash of psychiatry's traditional approach to what it calls schizophrenia. Nothing new there. Kurt Snyder has been well and truly brainwashed by his doctors in believing in the modern approach to psychosis and underplays the severity of the side effects psychiatric drugs can have as well as the stigma inflicted on those diagnosed with schizophrenia.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2011
Me, Myself, and Them is Kurt Snyder's own account of living with schizophrenia, an experience that began for him at the age of 18. But his account is supplemented by observations from an academic in the field of psychiatry, neurology and radiology (Raquel E Gur) and a journalist specialising in mental health issues (Linda Wasmer Andrews).

It is hard to find anything much to criticise in this book. If I have one very minor criticism, it is that more hasn't been done to address the issues of stigma and stereotyping in connection with schizophrenia. These issues are not ignored, but they are dealt with rather fleetingly towards the end of the book. My own feeling is that these are very important matters that should have been raised earlier and dealt with more thoroughly (but this doesn't stop me from giving the book a five-star rating).

As I see it, Me, Myself, and Them offers the reader two major benefits. First, it mixes personal experience with explanatory detail in a very readable way. Some of the background observations tend towards the technical, but they are offered in a straightforward and readily understandable way. The book also offers some guidance on legal and financial matters (for sufferers in the United States), thus adding another dimension to its more practical aspects. This book strikes the perfect balance between specialised medical description, advice for sufferers, ordinary everyday narrative, and emotional involvement.

Second, and perhaps more important, is the fact that this is a very positive, optimistic book. It clearly gives the message that schizophrenia is treatable. While it cannot actually be cured, substantial recovery is achievable. With treatment matched appropriately to the individual, a sufferer can go on to lead a very full and rewarding life, with the condition downgraded (potentially, at least) to little more than an occasional inconvenience - I certainly wasn't previously aware that such a positive outcome was possible.

Me, Myself, and Them is primarily aimed at schizophrenia sufferers and their families, but it is also invaluable for anyone who wants to get away from popular misconceptions and gain a better-informed understanding of what schizophrenia is.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2015
The initial part of this book "early days" is strikingly enlightening in exposing some of the most common origins of schizophrenia: "a poor self-image" probably brought on by the competition with his brother who "was always better than him at sports" a seemingly; an authoritarian mother, this is a recurring theme, the presence of a family member that isn't forgiving towards the child or puts pressure on the child with feelings of guilt: "why didn't you tell us?" (regarding the first embarrassing incident in school), followed by feelings of shame, a hurt dignity, and the unresponsiveness of the people towards these feelings during his childhood.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2015
A very emotional read I couldn't put the book down! A real insight and well written I understand the condition so much better now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2016
A very honest account of one mans experience of living with schizophrenia. I enjoyed following his story to the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2016
excellent book, concise and clear lived experience account of schizophrenia.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
Quite a good book. some interesting comments on mental illness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2016
very helpful book , speedy delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2011
Good read in simple language. Some useful information on schizophrenia experience and treatment. Liked the use of case studies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)