Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 April 2013
Lots of books that have not gone into the Bible.They throw a different light on the stories of Jesus and really make you think. I would recommend it to anyone that would like to increase their knowledge of the New Testament
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2016
As is usual for Ehrmans this is an authoritative and scholarly work. The amount of commentary is relatively low, much of the book comprising translations of the scriptures or extracts of them. Some of the fairy tales are quite entertaining.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
very interesting many thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
Item arrived safe and sound in excellent condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
Excellent
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2012
My first foray into the past of how the new testament came to be in its present form and this book has given me an excellect insight. Just enough description before each extract leaving you to form your own opinion as you read. An excellent starting point.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2012
A selection of texts and extracts of early Christian writing, mostly purporting to be by apostles, some of which were for a while thought canonical, but which has not come down to us. Divided like the New Testament itself into Gospels, Acts, Letters and Acolypses, the works sometimes recount the familiar Bible story, and in other cases are rich in implausible miracles, which were seemingly needed to bolster the faith of early congregations. If the known New Testament miracles may strengthen faith, these are so outlandish as discredit all such stories. The pages are set out in double columns with numbered verses as in the usual presentation of Bible texts, and are eminently readable. Those who enjoy this book (like me) will certainly find it raises many questions, and want to learn more.
44 Comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
Met all my expectations after perusing the sample and purchasing the full version. I have no hesitation in giving it a hearty recommendation. Fully recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
I liked the opportunity to explore the writings in and around the New Testament Canon. It gave me a much broader view of the scriptures, and widened my perspective. I have also gained much spiritual insight, particularly during this period of Kent in 2015. Thank you thank you thank you!
Ray Hills
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
As is usual for Ehrmans this is a mish mash of unscholarly opinion. These books were left out for a very good reason; they are not inspired, nor excepted as such at the time they were written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)