Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
17
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 December 2009
This book was well worth the money and fully deserves its 5 stars! I have only recently begun teaching a group of Spanish adults. Some are complete beginners and others had a little knowledge. They all bought the book and I bought the teachers' book and CD which make lesson plans a doddle! The units are very well thought out and introduce vocabulary and grammar slowly, progressing gradually through the book with the use of interesting stories and real life situations. There is the option to progress at your own speed through the units and they provide a mixture spoken and written exercises. Fully recommended for any teacher of beginners/elementary English students!New Headway Elementary - the THIRD edition: Teacher's Book: Teacher's Book Elementary level
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2000
Very unfortunately, "New Headway Elementary", which used to be an excellent British English textbook, has now been converted into a horrible mish-mash of British and American, with a strong American bias. Recommended for Americans maybe, but definitely not recommended for British English.
11 comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2012
I couldn't agree more about the ridiculous sexism of the Headway books.
Men are stupid and women are fantastic.
At first it irritated me - but, as I teach exclusively to international business people with brains, I quickly discovered that I can use this as a tool since they all laugh themselves silly at the hilariously funny attempts to be absolutely perfectly politically correct on every level of gender equality - reversing every possible stereotype about men.
More please more - it's great fun - how about some sexual orientation equality or some disability equality - after all - business people come to Britain first and foremost to learn about gender equality and only secondly do their companies pay for their english tuition!
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2003
I teach ESL in China, and the New Headway series is a Godsend. Yes, the new books focus more on American English, which is the rage here these days. Students tell me American English is easier to pronounce and easier to understand than British English. Since AE is the preferred language for international business, it makes sense to expose students to it. I got so tired of reading other ESL books that focus on British references and British examples, this is a true breath of fresh air!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2011
In the light of advancing formats, and more communicative approaches, the Soars approach seems a little creaky.
They serve a purpose, but many exercises (certainly in int and upper inet) are focused on too many comrephension tasks.
The layout (and New Cutting Edge has the same fault, but at least has redeeming features)fails to take into account the
new double-page mini unit format (Face2Face, Total English - it works less well on the Oxford English Result series, but
that's due to content, rather than format [though the Eng Result Upp Int is pretty good, the Int less so).

This seems a middle-brow, middle-of-the-road, twee series. it gives off a feel of middle England, Agatha Christie tweeness.
the elementary and pre-int are still serviceable but outclassed by Face2Face certainly. The Headway Int and Upp Int....
I give up.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
Children only as the content can be a little immature. However the content is full of different areas to work on which is great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
It is a clear course with good references and grammar points throughout. Am happy with it overall. Will use it alot
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
I already knew this method and I wouldn't change it. Although I 'd use updates I still like using old stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
I ordered it for my mother, as she is doing an English course that requires this book. Much easier for her.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
excellent price prompt servce
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse