Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
8
Jazz on a Summer's Day + CD: 9 pieces for jazz piano (Nikki Iles Jazz series)
Format: Sheet music|Change
Price:£11.27+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 9 December 2012
Interesting book, well written. Student needs to be a confident reader to manage the technique; I would say Grade 7 standard.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2015
The first one is a winner (Sunny Side of Street). Ta.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2013
Great pieces of music, really enjoyed them. The CD helped a lot with learning them as I'm an intermediate player who hasn't played in a long time. Would really recommend this. I've bought just two of this series of 4 books, but am keen to order the other two.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 December 2015
Perfect even for people who's first instrument might not be piano.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 July 2014
Great fun to play and will introduce it to students in due course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 May 2012
This book contains absolutely fantastic piano pieces and a CD too. I would say the difficulty is Grade 5/6 and upwards. The arrangments are superb and very rewarding to play; with practice you could be sounding like a pro with these arrangments!

There is one very well known standard 'On the Sunny Side of the Street' but to me, the others are not so well known. They are; Theme from 'Summer of '42', 'The Touch of your Lips'and 'The Last Rose of Summer'. Four of the pieces are Nikki Iles' own compositions and there is one duet 'the Shaker Song' where you can play along with the other part on the CD.

The music is arranged in such a way that it falls easily under your hands and also there are no stretches of a 10th in the left hand and as a female I find 10th's too much of a stretch. She uses jazz licks here and there so it makes it sound a bit improvised and sometimes there is written improvisation for a verse which are at the same level as the over all piece and sound accessable, so a refreshing change to most jazz pianist transcriptions.

My favourite jazz pianists are Bill Evans and Oscar Peterson and in the jazz style pieces you can hear these influneces. The Bill evans influence in the rich harmonies and cluster chords and intraspective feel but these pieces are much easier to play than Bill Evans transcriptions and likewise with the Oscar Peterson, there isn't the difficulty (almost needing three hands and also large hands because of the left hand leaps) but there is the feel and the rhymn of his music. There is real scope to put your own stlye to the music with these pieces. Nikki Iles own compositions are lovely to play and lsiten to and one has fairly modern harmonies.

I think this book would be good for those who are tired of playing the same old jazz standards and for those who listen to jazz and want to sound like an accomplished pianist who can improvise a bit. I look forward to her next piano book!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2013
There's some good variety in here. Some of the songs are a bit muzaky, but generally I like them. I'd say they are grade 5 or 6, with a pretty high impressiveness-to-difficulty ratio. The main difficulty is really in the complicated rhythms (the included CD helps a lot here if you're feeling lazy!).

I really think all sheet music books should let you preview the audio, iTunes-style. It would make choosing books easier.

Oh, and one piece is a duet.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2014
Great book! As a keen sight reader I was able to play the pieces straight away, which is great fun, not that these are beginners pieces. On the contrary they are sophisticated and neat arrangements that can sound really spontaneous and fresh given a lively and varied approach to the articulation. 'On the Sunny Side of the Street' is a personal favourite, as are Nikki's own compositions, which have a swinging rhythm. There is even a duet in a latin style which is great fun. Even if you don't have anyone to play it with, if you record one part onto a keyboard you can play against yourself and it sounds fab! I'm looking forward to completing the set. I already have the winter themed book, which is also great but limited to playing at Christmas, but these pieces can be played at any time of the year. The CD is a bonus and is very useful if you're not familiar with the jazz styles covered, as it enables you to hear some great examples of performance elements that are not always evident in the notation.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)