Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 March 2017
amazing book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
Some of the reviews make this book sound quite complex and had I not picked it up in a charity shop I probably would not have bought it online. It is quite dated as someone else has pointed out and I did catch myself thinking, wow, where are we now if this was 1995. There were a couple of chapters that I was particularly interested in and why I bought the book and they did not disappoint. Books like this are for dipping into and coming back to and I will be going back to read again. As second hand copies are available at little cost a well worth buy for those that enjoy contemplating 'worlds beyond space and time'. Made the Big Bang Theory come to life in parts. Overall enjoyable and although heavy in small parts a great deal of it was an easy enough read and suited to those of us with limited knowledge about the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2005
Art Bell interviewed eminent physicist Dr. Michio Kaku on his night time talk show Coast to Coast AM (still on the air in the USA but hosted by George Noory). Dr. Michio Kaky explained theories of the universe in a rational manner which made complex theories come alive in this listener's imagination. He provided descriptions that were palatable to a lay audience. He even entertained answering questions on the air. This taste led me to buy the book. Mankind has contemplated his or her place in the cosmos and exploring "what lies beyond " or "how the universe functions" since time immemorial. This book provides explanations to enhance the understanding many people seek ...

The most fascinating and intriguing concept in the book refers to the ten dimensions of hyperspace. Basic explanations are given for the strong force, weak force, gravitational force, electromagnetic force but the magic in this book lies in the descriptions of the quest for "unified theory" which will explain the operation of the universe in one single equation to the satisfaction of every theorist. The new geometry first conceived by George Bernard Reimann in 1854 was the most important mathematical conceptual discovery heading in this direction, toward solving this puzzle. This mathematical discovery revealed an equation for the fourth dimension. This revolutionary concept created the geometric patterns possible to explain the existence of higher dimensions in the universe. Space travel, multiple dimensions, parallel universes, superstring theory, black holes, time warps, and paradoxes are explained with lucidity in this book. The "Big Bang" theory is compared to the Biblical explanation. Anyone reading this book who has been mesmerized by viewing stars at night and who has wondered what lies beyond, will benefit from reading this book. The book is now over 10 years old but holds valuable ideas for those interested in this complex subject. Other recommended books are "The Tao of Physics" by Fritjof Capra and "Dancing of the Wu Li Masters" by Gary Zukov. By first listening to Dr. Michio Kaku I was hooked on learning more about the theories of the universe. His book is a great start on this quest. Erika Borsos (bakonyvilla)
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2002
In this superbly written book, Michio Kaku explains it all and "solves" it all by the theory of hyperspace. Basically, it explains the futility of unifying the basic forces of nature in the present concept of 4-D space-time. In fact Albert Einstein had to add the fourth temporal dimension of time to explain the field theory of gravity. Later Theodr Kaluza, while expressing Einstein's field equations in five dimensions came to startling result in which Maxwell's field equations of electro-magnetism was included along with field equations of gravity. So, just by addition of one dimension, two fundamental forces of nature were getting unified. Much later the 11-dimensional supergravity theory encompassed all the forces as well as matter in its expression giving hope of the ultimate theory in offing. It was eventually abandoned because the equations were nonrenormalizable (nonsensical results). Of course, the latest offering is the 10-dimensional superstring theory and its successor the 11-dimensional M-theory. These theories are very promising, seeming to unify quantum theory and general relativity and steering clear of the troubles which beset previous higher dimensional theories. In fact, according to Kaku, at the instant of creation our universe was a 10-dimensional supersymmetric universe with all forces and matter/energy unified into one entity!
This book also delves into the origin and history of higher dimensional concepts, explained lucidly and brilliantly by Mr. Kaku. He explains that higher dimensional objects couldn't be visualized by us(3-D beings) and thus has to be viewed as projections or shadows on our 3-D space or even unravel them in our space(like a "tesseract", which is an unraveled hypercube). Kaku often drives home his point by explaining in terms of 2-D "flatlanders" existing in our 3-D world, which no doubt is a very easy way of understanding these kinds of concepts. This book will also explain theories regarding parallel universes, black holes, worm holes, time travel and death of our universe.
I definitely recommend this book to those who want to have a glimpse of the future and understand and enjoy the various physical concepts which are being brought from the realm of science fiction to our present day reality.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 1999
As an undergraduate physicist, this book has reminded me why I chose the subject!
Kaku's book takes you through all the ideas that have been put forward about multi-dimensional space in a fascinating way. Adding extra dimensions to our universe, instead of the usual three of space and one of time, has amazing consequences. It can unify all the forces in a beautifully simple way, enable time and space travel and maybe even explain paranormal phenomena! The chapters are split down into subheadings and this makes the physics a lot easier to digest.
'Hyperspace' is so enthralling it is extremely hard to put down. It has just the right balance between science and entertainment that makes it perfect for all to read. The ideas within this book really stretch your imagination to the limit and you will find yourself talking about the ideas to others. I would recommend this book, and Kaku's others, to anyone.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2016
The book is excellent, I thoroughly recommend it. The problem is with the deliverer. I ordered this book on 19 December via Amazon Prime for delivery on 20 December. We reorganized our day to ensure we would be in. At approximately 12 noon I saw a man running down our drive and push a card through the letterbox to say the parcel was with a neighbour. I quickly opened the door and challenged him to make the delivery. Embarrassed he called to another man for the parcel who instantly handed it to him. They had made no effort to make the delivery, preferring to just post a card saying it was at a neighbour, which it was not.
We could not have missed him if he had tried to make the delivery, we were waiting for it. Our doorbell is in perfect working order.
Furthermore the parcel fitted easily through our letterbox, clearly no effort had been made!!
I suggest these two people be fired immediately.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2009
Hyperspace is the first popular book by Theoretical physicist Michio Kaku, but he succeeds in communicating the majority of the ideas in this book, particularly the nature of higher dimensions.

There is one area where prior reading would help, and it concerns the Standard model and aspects of quantum mechanics, including quark flavours and spins, which you can't grasp from this book alone. It's a little distracting from the otherwise elegant description of hyperspace and strings.

One favourite passage occurs later in the book, where Kaku describes us melting an ice cube in our kitchen, then turning the water vapour into constituent atoms, which become a plasma, and as the heat reaches trillions of Kelvins, the four forces start to reunify. The last sentence reads, 'at this point, it would be a good idea to leave the kitchen.' It's this kind of wit that adds a humanity to such vast arenas of comprehension.

The book covers other ideas, such as what was before creation, and how do we measure the level of alien, and our own, civilisations (it all comes down to energy use; you can apply this to ants and anything else that uses energy).

I would probably read up on Quantum mechanics and the Standard Model before reading this book, but only at a basic level, and those looking for an easier ride would be advised to look at Marcus Chown's books. Otherwise it is quite friendly and inspirational.

Kaku is doing a good job of carrying on where the great Carl Sagan left off.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
For a theoretical physicist, Professor Michio Kaku possesses the rare skill of being able to distil complex ideas down to basics to help the layman unschooled in Riemann's metric tensor, general relativity, quantum and Kaluza-Klein theories to understand how leading-edge physics is exploring new models of what we call reality. He is also, as we all know, something of a media star who in the past 20 years has carved out a strong brand as the enthusiastic expert face of advanced physics on TV - a position previously occupied by the late Carl Sagan. His high public profile almost certainly boosts sales of his books and lends greater credibility to their content in the eyes of the reader mainly uninformed on this subject matter.

In 334 pages of intelligent and densely written narrative, the long-haired Prof explains with refreshing lucidity how physicists have grappled with mathematical and experimental models to understand the laws of nature, the effort to unite the four known universal forces (electro-magnetism, gravity, the strong and weak nuclear forces) under one symmetry, how the revolutionary breakthrough of superstring theory by postulating the 10- and 26-dimensional universe might (though the theory cannot currently be experimentally verified) finally achieve this; and the resultant implications for the existence of hyperspace, wormholes to other dimensions and time travel - which he demonstrates as theoretically possible despite the paradoxes. The fundamental thesis of the book is to demonstrate to the lay reader how complex and seemingly contradictory phenomena (like quantum and relativity theories) simplify and unify in higher dimensions - a difficult idea to deal with for lesser mortals but Kaku succeeds to an admirable degree. He even discourses on God, the existence of whom has often been debated in high-level physics not as a theological abstract or personal belief, but as a necessary initiator of a universal order otherwise unexplainable - the "God of Order", not the "God of Miracles".

Kaku has a highly literate and engaging writing style and uses analogy, anecdote, clever drawings and cartoons to get his points across. For example, our brains operate in three-dimensional space so can not easily conceptualise life in four or five dimensions. In order to illustrate the concept he employs the analogy of flatlanders in a two-dimensional world and how a three-dimensional object might appear to them - i.e. they would only be able to perceive a flat cross-section at a time and could have no concept of what the whole thing might look like, as their world-view cannot conceive of "up" or "down." So it is for us, in trying to visualise space containing more than three dimensions.

The author gives us brief bios of many mathematicians and physicists who have made major contributions to understanding the universe over the past 200 years or so, knows his geopolitical history and seems to have also read a fair amount of science fiction (the thoughtful kind from authors like Asimov, Heinlein and Clarke). He uses many of these stories to illustrate the advanced concepts he is trying to explain. Discussing quantum theory, Kaku writes: "Nobody knows how it can be like that...of all theories proposed in the 20th century, the silliest and most absurd is quantum theory. The only thing quantum theory has going for it is that it is unquestionably correct, and invariably confirmed by experiment." Relating Einstein's objections to quantum theory in a conversation with Niels Bohr, Bohr is alleged to have exclaimed to Einstein in frustration: "You are not thinking! You are merely being logical!"

In later chapters, Kaku discourses on the concept of type one, two and three civilizations. The first step in ensuring long-term survival and graduating to a type one civilization, according to Kaku, is a unitary planetary government without which any civilization will soon (i.e. within a few thousand years) probably perish from inability to effectively manage the risks of potential nuclear self-annihilation, environmental degradation or cosmic cataclysm such as asteroid impact, which are known to have initiated periodic mass species-extinctions in the planet's history. He also extrapolates theories of how the universe will end and if it might be possible to escape to other parallel universes.

Kaku's books are targeted at the reader with an average to higher level of formal education in a subject other than mathematics or physics. Despite simplified explanations, a reader with high-school-level education completely unfamiliar with any concepts of advanced physics might struggle: there is a lot of information to absorb, the book is densely written and these ideas can only be simplified so far. At the other end of the scale, a post-graduate student of particle physics or astronomy will probably find little of interest here; the book is not for them. It's pitched to the curious, intelligent but non-specialist middle-ground, the popular centre: as such, it's a notable achievement in that it simultaneously educates, makes you think in new ways, and entertains.

"Hyperspace" was written in the mid-1990s and the debate in physics has moved on in recent years. This however does not invalidate this excellent book by one of the greatest minds of the modern age. It grapples with some serious stuff, and the really big questions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2009
Michio Kaku attempts to describe many areas of physics in this book. He aims toward the string theories and beyond. The subject matter is `converted' from the language of mathematics into a more descriptive, analogous form. Michio Kaku presents his knowledge and ideas in a simple way so that the non-scientific reader is able to appreciate the complex arguments of theoretical physics. The book is organised by introducing a fourth, fifth, and tenth dimension to our familiar three dimensional view. He explains why the laws of physics appear simpler and unified with ten dimensions to work in rather than the mere four dimensions of relativistic space-time. He covers the history of the subject and provides many references to physicists and their scientific contributions. Potential readers of this book should be aware of the controversy inherent in the various string theories. That is, as such, hyperspace and string theories are not necessarily accepted as science by the mainstream physics community. There is no way to test Michio Kaku's assertions nor falsify some of the notions presented. This subject has undergone some major changes (And improvement) since the Oxford University Press published this book in 1994. This writer thoroughly enjoyed this book; it is not too complex even though the ideas are. Credit must be given to Michio Kaku in writing about space, time, mass, energy and dimensionality in such an accessable and flowing style. Buy this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2009
This book mainly deals with the 10 dimensions of the string theory.

I will start my review with the minor drawbacks of the book. First of all it is quite old. 1994 is 15 years older than our era, witch is quite a lot of time for science. Secondly, i dont want to sound like an arrogant but for me this was the 11th book of popular science that i've read, and to be honest it rarely said anything i didnt already know. Some people said that it got into to many details. On the contrary, i believe that it lacked some deeper details for the more enthousiast reader. But that's all the drawbacks i could think of.

The book is superb! I read it in 3-4 days, it is quite a record for me (i am not native english speaker), and that alone shows how addictive it was. It is highly enjoyable, very well written and very makes you visualize in your mind in a exciting way various terms, such as the topology of space etc. All the terms are extremely well analysed to the point that you feel it is like a fairy tale. I guess that for an unexperienced reader in popular science, reading this book will be a major philosofical shock. Learning for the first time about the double slit experiment, parallel worlds, topology of the universe is not an easy think!

Michio Kaku is an exceptional writter.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)