Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
14
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
6
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£40.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 November 2015
Firstly, my review may be biased as I love the Oxford Companion series and have well thumbed hard copies of both the English Literature and English Language volumes. I've just bought the ereader Literature version for an astonishing £4.55. It's probably going to be one of my best under a fiver investments ever!

This is bang up to date, with entries reflecting new authors and American literature. There are also sections on Black British authors, Children's Literature, Literary Prizes and prize winners as well as a full A to Z. All in all, an outstanding reference resource and great to while away the day just browsing. The hyperlinks make it almost as user friendly as a hard copy, but the convenience of having this tucked away on the kindle to dip into at any time is just amazing. I can't recommend this highly enough to anyone with a remote interest in reading and literature.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
If you are an avid reader, you will find this an invaluable guide to English and European literature. Once opened, you keep finding another fascinating entry!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2010
I've had a previous version of this excellent book for quite some time and have always found it most useful in all sorts of ways. I've now bought the latest edition for my grand-daughter who is presently studying an open university degree course and I am sure that she will find it useful too.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2011
This is a very accessible and informative book for any student or reader of Eng. Lit. The perfect school prize!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2012
A great read, stuffed with fine pieces and quotations. Best understood if read alongside Fuinnegan's'Why do we quote?' and the Oxforf Dictionary of Quotations
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
I was more surprised by the omissions than the inclusions, some of the greatest genre writers are missing from this and it is heavy biased towards a male view of literary fictions
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2012
This is probably the best publication of its type in use for those studying for the degree in English Literature.
But to anyone interested in the form of the language, as written or translated of prose and poetry, this is the perfect book to hand. The references often go into such detail and background of the author and the substance of the titles that the historical context of a publication of that period is provided.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2015
A very good successor to the earlier editions
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2012
I bought this most recent version of "The Oxford Companion to English Literature" as my Mum had an earlier version from the 1980's, and it was well used.

I am glad I purchased it, as it is easy to use, with new sections and is up to date. A very useful book for anyone with an interest in English Literature and related subjects.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
I do not find this edition as good as the previous one, ( the Margaret Drabble ). It does not tick all the boxes for me.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)