Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 22 December 2010
I ordered both volumes of this anthology, keen to boost the prestige of my bookshelves as an English teacher. This is truly an excellent book - it contains all of the key poems of the past three hundred years and the quality is extremely high. There are well-known poems such as Blake's 'A Poison Tree'; Coleridge's 'Kubla Khan'; and Shelley's 'Ozymandias', as well as slightly lesser known (to newcomers to poetry, at least) works like Hood's 'The Bridge of Sighs' and Betjeman's 'Death in Leamington'. You can see the spread of poets and eras spanned by this anthology, and there really is everything in between.

A very overused term when purchasing books is 'a worthy addition to any bookshelf'. This however would not do justice to this fine book: it is simply a must have item for newcomers to poetry and afficionados alike. I purchase lot of books and I teach poetry so I know of what I speak. Buy at any cost.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2012
The content of this book is good, but the quality of paper is very poor and the print size much too small for comfortable appreciation of the poems.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
Poetry makes me appreciate words more, feel the rhythm more, and enjoy the depth of art and craft that goes in to writing this way. Not a book to read at one sitting, but great to have on the bedside to read and savour
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2015
A good collection of poems as an introduction to many poets. It's amazing how no single anothology covers all my favourite poems, but this is quite a good starter for anyone with a generalist interest in poetry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
Fabulous book that'll be with me for all time. Delivered in good time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2015
good read, good as a resource.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
Anyone who loves the poetry of England and the other nations of the British isles HAS to buy this book! Incidentally, I was lucky enough to find Volume 1 on Amazon.co.uk (apparently very difficult to get hold of now). Volume 2, though, includes S T Coleridge's THE RIME OF THE ANCIENT MARINER, Shelley's THE MASK OF ANARCHY, Christina Georgina Rossetti's GOBLIN MARKET, Oscar Wilde's THE BALLAD OF READING GAOL and T S Eliot's THE WASTELAND in their entirety. Truly essential reference material for anyone interested in the development of English poetry from William Blake through to Seamus Heaney, this can be seen as the second half of the best anthology of English poetry in existence. Four centuries of English verse, from roughly the middle of the sixteenth century to the late-middle of the twentieth century, are condensed into these two volumes - if you can, get hold of Volume 1 too. In the immortal words of Christina G Rossetti, 'Come buy, come buy' - and enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2010
Not being a poetry fanatic, I sought a volume that would include both familiar poems and compositions that were new to me. I found this collection, covering the period from the Elizabethan to the present day, to be an excellent addition to my library. Poems are arranged by author date and this is the second of a two-part anthology edited by John Wain.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse