Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 2 April 2014
Used as a reference in a presentation on mental health through the ages. The content offered an excellent overview which was well balanced.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2017
An interesting coverage of the evolution of psychiatry
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 February 2016
This is an excellent introduction to the history of madness and psychiatry. Roy Porter writes in a lucid, accessible way and is even-handed in his accounts of various approaches to and views about the nature of madness. It's very readable and packed with references to historical material which you will immediately want to seek out. Which is pretty much the purpose of a primer like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2015
I've read Roy Porter over the years and have always enjoyed his work. Found this book as entertaining as his work always is. This book was too brief though. I would have liked more depth. Still it is what the title says it is. I still appreciate all of his works. Love his sense of fun and the lively way he wrote.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 November 2015
absolutely fantastic book, have used it in many of my assignments for both disability studies and human rights, equality and Genocide lectures. would recommend to anyone with an interest to how disabled people where treated in the past
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 July 2014
Great easy read about the history of psychiatry.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2013
It is a subject that interests me from a historical perspective.
A bit old fashioned but it is an old book.
I would recommend to anyone if they had similar interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2014
A fantastic start to any historical research concerned with psychiatry by a well renown writer. Recommend for anyone interested in this area of history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 July 2014
Very interesting, go for it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2015
A very good guide to further reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse