Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
25
Dinosaur Cove Cretaceous 1: Attack of the Lizard King
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 17 January 2010
My 6 year old absolutely adored this book which he has been reading aloud to me every evening (he reads a chapter of Dinosaur Cove to me, then I read Astrosaurs to him as our bedtime stories!). Exciting story, lovely black and white illustrations to keep a child interested, and well chosen text, most of which will be familiar to a young reader, but with enough new words (and dinosaur names etc) to stretch them a little.

Just to give you an idea about the reading level/ age of this book, DS is reading at the White book band level, and has found this book possibly slightly easier than the texts he is used to. Probably more boys than girls will find it appealing - the story is based on 2 8-year-old boys - but any dino-keen child will enjoy it.

He is desperate to get the next book, so I've ordered the next few in the series from Amazon! Superb.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2010
This review is more on the series than this particular book, as to me they are all pretty similar

The books follow 2 eight year old boys who find their way into the past and are able to visit the Cretaceous period (65-80 million years ago) at will to observe and interact with dinosaurs whilst having amazing adventures

Since we got the first one 3 weeks ago we haven't read a single page from a book that ISN'T Dinosaur Cove (apart from school homework/ reading) and my 5 year old has chosen to spend his birthday money on buying the next lot of books rather than on toys!!!

He isn't able to read them himself of course but he loves to hear them read, and it is his first experience of chapters and proper stories and he is taking to it really well

Great books
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2016
My kids first loved listening to me reading the stories and now they enjoy reading them themselves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 January 2017
Wonderful book for my 4 year old gradson
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2011
First in the Dinosaur Cove series so in some ways a scene setter. However, to 6 yr old a fabulous dinosaur adventure. He is now on a mission to acquire the whole series. As a parent I'm pleased it's one of the first books he really wants to read on his own.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2014
Bought for my four year old to move onto after early readers. Most of the words are appropriate but there are a few odd ones that I'd not expect in the book, for example "mournfully" and "suspiciously". My son loves it and wants to read more,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2013
Bought boxed set of first 10 books in series after reading this one - on book 6 and not been disappointed yet!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2013
my son really love this book easy to read and very exciting for a seven year old. would buy these books again
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 December 2013
I thought this book was a very cool start to the Dino cove books. One thing I didn't like about it was the fact it was short.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2014
Our 6 year old grandson loved it and can't wait to read the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse