Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 5 October 2017
Grandson loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2016
Follow Dinah, and the SPLAT gang as they navigate the terrifying reality that is school, with more rules than you can shake a stick at, horrible prefects, and a demon headmaster. It's a battle of wills, and intellect at work here.

A solid start to a children's series, I remember reading this when I was about 10, and I had loved it. However, at 23, it seemed too much of a quick read, and I was less engaged with the plot. However, the characters are continuing to develop and the writing style is soft, easy and flows well. It is perfect for kids in my opinion, and was a great reminder of childhood.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2012
`The Demon Headmaster' was first published in 1982. This story is about a girl who's just arrived from a foster home to live with the Hunter family. A school that seems to be acting strange and awkward as all the children are not having fun but being hypnotized of following the order of the headmaster.

As the story begins with a girl named Dinah Glass who lived in a foster home for almost 10 years, is on her way on arriving to the family name `The Hunter family'. As she is told that she has two foster brothers named Lloyd and Harvey. As she is excited to start at her new school, wondering how the children will react, but realises that the school is not the place that she thought as this is just like an example of a human statue awaiting for instruction.

The first time she visits the headmaster who is tall and thin, dressed in his black gown, with white hair and black glasses, and doesn't seem like a comfortable character to spend any time with. At one point, when she accidentally stares into the eyes of the headmaster it makes her fall asleep in his office during her first interview with him.

Once she finds out from her foster brothers that the headmaster is hypnotizing everyone, Dinah figures out not to become a slave of the headmaster but to spy on him to find out his master plan in order to stop him in his tracks.

In the book `The Demon Headmaster' is a fabulous book that starts off with a girl named Dinah who is an orphan finds herself cast into unfamiliar area when she is placed with a foster family. Used to playing the system and concealing how clever she really is from her peers and elders, Dinah now feels the system is playing her and that somehow it is all connected to the headmaster of her strange new school. Relying on her suspicious new foster brothers, Lloyd and Harvey can Dinah and the rest of the splat club get to the bottom of everyone's odd behaviour at school and frustrate the evil headmaster's plot before it is too late.

Overall, the book `The Demon Headmaster' has enough pace, mystery and adventure to keep any child of ten and above gripped and hungry for more. It would be at home on any year four and five classroom bookshelf. It is an ideal book for guided and independent reading.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
This story is a story that I can relate to my very own head teacher. It is a classic book that really gets you involved. It's one of those books where your not just reading it, you actually feel like your in
it. I gave this book a four star because it didn't really tick all the boxes that I was hoping it would. Other than that it is an amazing book that really is just purely amazing. I recommend this to 9-13 year-olds.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2017
I got this for my son who's reading it in school, I remember the story from when I was young, the TV show version of it was brilliant too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2017
My 10 year old daughter absolutely loved this book. She now wants the other books in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 December 2006
First published in 1982, this book reads a bit like a cross between Enid Blyton's secret seven and the My parents are aliens TV series, except that here the very odd characters are at school rather than at home. Dinah has just moved to a new foster home where the incumbent boys (particularly older brother Lloyd) are very suspicious of her. Perhaps with good reason, as from the very first day at her new school, Dinah can see that something is horribly wrong. All the schoolchildren are just too perfectly behaved, and her free-thinking step-brothers are being excluded and treated as trouble-makers. And before long, the Headmaster asks to see Dinah....

My son (10) is really enjoying me reading this book to him at bedtime (at 160 pages it is taking a while). We started off with the Puffin edition and then bought this edition when the library recalled it. We were disappointed that, unlike the Puffin version, this book has no illustrations (and the front cover is a bit bland compared to the traditional cover image of the Demon Headmasters face - but then in a way the old cover gave away a lot of the plot). But the story reads well enough without line drawings, and we have now bought all the other five books in this series : The Demon Headmaster and the Prime Minister's Brain, The revenge of the Demon Headmaster, The Demon Headmaster takes over, The Demon Headmaster strikes again, and Facing the Demon Headmaster. They must be read in order to make sense of what is going on.

Some of the language in Demon Headmaster seems dated, mainly Lloyd's food related exclamations, which make it read very much like a 1950s Enid Blyton book (no bad thing - and my sons often laughs out loud at his expressions). But it's a well crafted story that kept my son's attention throughout, and, although tense in places, it's surprisingly non-scary considering the plot-line. Unlike his favourite AstroSaurs and Captain Underpants books, this book is probably more girl friendly as well. Just a shame the excellent TV series isn't available on DVD at the moment to compliment this very good book (aimed at 7-12s I would say). It just loses a star as we missed the illustrations of the Puffin version.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2017
An old favourite from my childhood I bought to read with my 7 year old.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2010
The Demon Headmaster is a very interesting book. For Harvey and Lloyd, life changes from normality (at home) to abnormality (at school). The book is about six children who have to save the world before the Headmaster can use his powers outside of the school and its secrets.
I liked this book and I'd like to read the next book too. I liked it because it's mysterious.
I recommend this to children aged 10-13 (I'm twelve years old). This book is a bit spooky, but not really frightening.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2009
Lloyd and Harvey get more than they bargined when they get a new foster sister called Dinah. On her first day at school Dinah notices there is something is wrong, all the children are well behaved and keen to learn, the prefects behave like teachers, only worse and the whole school is run by the mysterious Headmaster. Lloyd and Harvey along with their friends Ian, Mandy and Ingrid are treated as outcasts and trouble makers as they are the only five who behave as children normally do. Dinah soon discovers that the Headmaster uses hynostism to control the children in the school and tries to alert Lloyd and the others to this but unfortunatly she too is under the Headmaster's influence and is at first unable to tell them. When she does at last she is introduced to SPLAT (Society for the Protection of our Lives Against Them)made up of the five 'normals' and together they plot to foil the Headmaster's evil plans and get rid of him for good.

Great book with a terrific story. Probably one of the earliest examples of a children's book that portrayed the child characters in a realistic way rather than the goody goodies portrayed by the likes of Enid Blyton.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse